Just a note for anyone who pulls the user's phone number from the system...


Last Updated:

  1. GasBot

    GasBot Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    If your app pulls the user's phone number, make sure you check if that number is null or not. There seems to be a great number of user's who are using old SIM cards and the Android OS has a problem pulling the phone number so it's just blank (user's can check this by going to Settings -> About phone -> Status and looking at the phone number field). If everything's working you should see your phone number in there, but like I said there are quite a few who's fields are blank.

    Anyways, to fix this issue the user will need to call into T-Mobile's PDA Support department and have them do a MSSDN update over the air. This will reassociate the phone number with the SIM card and will cure this issue. Either that or swap out to a newer SIM, but the OTA update is faster.

    Just a little heads up for my fellow developers out there.
     

    Advertisement
  2. onthefence

    onthefence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    15
    We just got a brand new G1 with brand new SIM card. And the number is showing blank. Will call to see if they can update, but just wanted to make a note that it can occur with new SIM cards as well. Thanks for the tip.
     
  3. drustvold

    drustvold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    6
    Same here. Seems like a lot of new G1s are like this.
     
  4. Shel

    Shel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    20
    I spent about 30 minutes on the phone with TMobile, Blackberry support (guess they don't have G1 support yet, so BB support handles questions for the G1)

    Anyways, he tried to send me something which was supposed to put the phone number in that area for me, but it didn't work.

    In the end, he had me remove the sim card from my G1, and install in back into my retired Blackberry. The blackberry allows you to manually enter your phone number. I entered my phone number with the Sim card in my Pearl, then removed the Sim card, reinserted it into the G1, and it now shows my phone number correctly in the Settings area!

    Hope this might help some of you, if you happen to have an old Blackberry.
     
  5. GasBot

    GasBot Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm wondering if he even knew what he was doing with the OTA tool. T-Mobile seriously needs to train their people on this problem as it's MUCH more widespread than I originally had thought.

    In the next version of my app I'm going to check for this and display a message giving them instructions of what to do.
     
  6. airprakken

    airprakken Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    My phone number was blank for about 2 days after I got the phone ( ~ 2 weeks ago). It simply appeared after a couple days of use.

    The salesman at the store told me that it could take several days before all of the services were working. Not sure why that would be but at least he had had some training on that.
     
  7. GasBot

    GasBot Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    My guess is that they sent down that OTA SIM card flash. The phone doesn't alert you to it at all from what I can tell, it just happens.
     

Share This Page

Loading...