Just a thought about updating firmware.


Last Updated:

  1. croyde

    croyde Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    My Orange branded Desire is unlocked so what's to stop me getting a Vodafone Sim and upgrading to Froyo or is it more complicated than that.

    I'm sure it is.
     

    Advertisement
  2. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    because its orange branded, orange need to release their version of 2.2 OTA before you can upgrade, its not the sim card, but the branded rom on the phone that causes this I believe...
     
  3. wellibob

    wellibob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    get an iphone...... no seriously, look into debranding your phone or rooting. opens up endless possibilities :D
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    you could keep you sim, as the branding is not done via sim.

    get the sdcard, take the data off it, format it, goldcard it, put the data back, flash the unbranded latest froyo release, put data back on card.

    job done = rapid phone

    takes about 10 mins for the entire process including making a gold card
     
  5. bfksc

    bfksc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    201
    Like the others have said, you need to wait for Orange to release their own branded update or go with an generic ROM or root the phone. I'm running a generic HTC firmware ROM that comes without any branding and is the official version that HTC released for unbranded phones. This version removed the Telus branding from my Desire and allowed my phone to work on EDGE data networks which the Telus version had blocked for some demented reason.

    This flash update file is available with installation instuctions right here on Android forums thanks to teppic74:

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/148932-froyo-ruu-update-available.html

    You'll need to convert your memory card into a "goldcard" to run RUU update files, but there's a tool out there to help with that.
    :D
     
  6. Kaliban

    Kaliban Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...