Just bought an rooted evo running freshevo


Last Updated:

  1. flonkas

    flonkas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    13
    My buddy sold me his evo before he moved, its in amazing condition. For some reason, I cant activate the phone. It never can connect to the network. I have tried EVERYTHING with sprint online and phone tech service. Please, you guys are my last hope :( Is there a known issue with custom roms/rooted phones that prevent them from activating?

    If I take it to a sprint store, can they do anything about it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    can you verify through your buddy that it worked

    can you explain EVERYTHING you have tried

    I can think of a few things...first off going into recovery and reflashing fresh.

    which version is on the phone?

    do you know how to add the rom to your sd card, boot into recovery and flash it?
     
  3. flonkas

    flonkas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    13
    Version: fresh evo 3.3.0.1 by flipz.

    Verified from my buddy, it works. I saw it working a few hours before I purchased too.

    I have tried all these ways to fix : Hard reset, reseting the data profile, and sprint tried stuff on there end. I am unskilled in the rom area but I have had android for a long time and studied some threads, never actually tinkered with it. I do not know how to add a rom, but I do know how to boot into recovery and flashing is just selecting the correct rom right? And seriously thanks for the help.
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    you got it. use the fresh link in my thread to get the rom and use this for instructions

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/194918-rooting-dummies-extras.html
     
  5. flonkas

    flonkas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    13

    Hmm, sprint says there seems to be an issue regarding the method I tried hooking my phone up with resulting in it not working for 5 or 6 hours....Im gonna wait that long then try this. Thanks so much ed and I was wondering if I can pm you tonight if Sprints method fails. I hope it doesnt but just-in-case.. :(
     
  6. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    you are always welcome to pm me. I am on and off the forum...on more frequently than I should be honestly lol.

    If I don't answer right away no worries I will when I get back online
     
    flonkas likes this.
  7. madiom

    madiom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    If that doesn't work flash back to stock, and try to activate with sprint. If that doesn't work you can always unroot and try it that way to.
     
  8. GrandMasterBirt

    GrandMasterBirt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
  9. Droid_Genius

    Droid_Genius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    18
    Just dont take it in to the store whatever you do cause they see its rooted they wont help
     
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    He pm'd me it is working after waiting the time sprint said to wait.
     

Share This Page

Loading...