Just got my new Captivate..what next?


Last Updated:

  1. Sikwidastar

    Sikwidastar Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well its my 3rd day with my new captivate, so I'm wondering if theres anything thats a must do. Its my first Android phone so I've got no clue there either. Truthfully, my last "smartphone" was a Blackjack. I got ticked about the whole data package thing with AT&T. I'm back in the game and I'm lost. Thanks if u can help out
     

    Advertisement
  2. TDQuiksilver

    TDQuiksilver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    16
    Root. Delete AT&T bloatware apps. Install custom launcher (ADW or LauncherPro). Apply "lag fix" if you prefer.
     
  3. Grut

    Grut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Welcome! Since you have had it for a few days, you should be pretty familiar with the device. Keep reading this forum to stay up-to-date on current events, news and troubleshooting. Start downloading APPS! Download some useful, fun apps to make your captivate fun, productive or to just stand out. Here is a list of apps I have installed, check them out for yourself....

    Around Me *
    Compass
    Google Earth
    Ebay
    Fandango
    Key Ring <------- handy if you have a lot of reward cards from different stores.
    Google Sky Map
    Fast Food *
    Pandora *
    ESPN Score Center
    Ringdroid * <-------- Make custom ringtones from the songs on your phone
    Yellowbook *
    White Pages
    Yelp *
    Dictionary.com
    Zedge <------- Wallpapers and ringtones
    Advanced Task Killer *
    Where's my Droid *
    Shopper *
    My Tracks
    Speed View
    Google Translate *
    Facebook *
    Vlingo * <-------- best app I have. Speech to text and search. Really Cool!
    Street View on Google Maps *
    8500+ Drink Recipes *
    Stopwatch & Timer

    Welcome again and enjoy your captivate....
     
  4. Smoghog

    Smoghog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Read through the "Post Your Homescreens" thread asap, it'll give ya plenty of inspiration and ideas, as well as a good idea of what other people are using successfully on their phones.

    As mentioned above, Get rid of the AT&T Bloatware and switch to a different launcher to override TouchWiz (I personally recommend LauncherPro)

    Make some prank calls.
     
  5. Sikwidastar

    Sikwidastar Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0


    I'd love to. I'm definatly not secure with some of the options in the forums to get the bloatware off though. Is there an "easy" way to ensure I dont turn my phone into a paper weight?
     
  6. jflexe99

    jflexe99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    17
    I did the "Beast" root. Worked flawlessly and took off at&t bloatware...

    These phones are pretty much unbrickable...can always flash to stock rom. Which I am doing soon due to permission problems with my phone...
     
  7. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    I disagree with all the people pushing newbies to "just root", "lag fix", "overclock", etc.

    These are advanced topics, with significant risk and plenty of ramifications even when they install ok. You'll noticed no one who suggested it to you mentioned any of them... and all of them "break" the normal behavior of the device and make it work in ways that it wasn't designed to. This can cause unpredictable issues... proven with today's first Captivate update (which failed for most people with lag fixes and rooted phones). Best not to dive into stuff like that until you've educated yourself enough about the pros and cons and are willing to take on the risk.

    The best advice is to try out a different launcher, such as LauncherPro. :) This gives you some really nice extra functionality without doing anything unnatural. Then go and explore all the tons of cool software out there to see what might interest you. :)
     
  8. Sikwidastar

    Sikwidastar Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like the idea of removing the AT&T apps from my phone but if I run the risk of screwing up the phone, its really not worth it to me. I havent noticed any issues with the phone so far. I constantly have 5 or 6 apps running, SNS, DRM Protected Content Storage, Google, Device management, Samsung keypad, Synchronize, BattStatt, and Tajm are up and running now. I plan on installing a few more apps and visual items but outside of that, for me its a phone that can keep me entertained. I'm coming from an LG Zenon so the Captivate running at 50% is still miles ahead.

    My PC has 8 GBs memory and a TB HD with a 27" 1080p flat screen :D so I hardly spend my time going crosseyed looking at the 4"er on my phone. It dosent need to be my computer. I do however want to get my $25.00 a month out of AT&T.

    Do I need to root the phone to install the LauncherPro? Can I switch back if I dont like it?
    Thanks again
     
  9. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    You'll be interested in knowing that with LauncherPro you can hide them from even appearing in the main app list. :) But even with the stock launcher, you can just put whatever icons you want on the home screen. You only look at the main apps list after you install something and need to drag an icon to a home screen.

    Not at all. :) It just installs like any other app from the marketplace.

    Yes. And the free app Home Switcher (also in the marketplace) makes this very easy.
     
    Sikwidastar likes this.
  10. Sikwidastar

    Sikwidastar Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    thanks again
     
  11. CASUAL

    CASUAL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    hey man how do you put videos on the captivate..I want to put this awesome screen to good use.
    did you have to download them from somewhere?? or did you rent the dvd and put it on your phone somehow.

    You have some Apps I need to check out!!
     
  12. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    I convert them from DVD. I'm currently working on a FAQ with instructions, but the basic idea is:

    - Rip with something that can overcome the copy-protection (such as DVDfab)
    - Encode using Handbrake using quality settings that balance your need for encode time, quality, and final file size.

    Keep it legal. :)
     
  13. jimbojones06

    jimbojones06 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get some games!

    My current favs:
    Cubes (beta) <-- like cube runner
    Unblock Me <-- free, slider puzzle game, TONs of puzzles
    Fruit Ninja
    MiniSquadron
     
  14. nyydynasty

    nyydynasty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    171
    my suggestion: don't root. leave it stock and enjoy the phone.
     
  15. CASUAL

    CASUAL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    I am not that tech savvy..ill just wait until you make that FAQ with instructions lol
    they should make it a sticky too because that looks like its going to be super useful

    does the phone have to be rooted? because mine is stock. this is my first android phone and I dont plan on doing anything extreme to it yet. The bloatware doesnt bother me. the last phone I had was a blackjack 2 hahaha
     
    Roachk1lla likes this.
  16. Roachk1lla

    Roachk1lla Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too upgraded from a Blackjack 2. Blackjack 2 had a bunch of things to tinker around with but this Captivate is a WHOLE new world.

    I too would like to learn how to get a movie on my phone to show off the screen.
     
  17. Sikwidastar

    Sikwidastar Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ya, I'm not rooting this one. I've downloaded Launcher Pro and adw.launcher to change things up a bit. I downloaded the Home Switch too. I guess I can set up 3 different home screens that way?? No reason to get all crazy with the programing.
     
  18. Sikwidastar

    Sikwidastar Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do I need to do to get some new icons? Like I said, I've got both Launcher Pro and ADW..
     
  19. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Maybe they'll make a link to it a sticky if they like it enough... but it's a whole website. ;)

    Certainly not to play movies. :) And all the ripping/encoding work is done on the PC.
     
  20. CASUAL

    CASUAL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    the thing I liked about the Blackjack 2 was the conversation text..
    blackjack 2 to captivate...
    damn WHAT AN UPGRADE!!!!!
    its funny when you think about how the blackjack 2 was one of the top of the line phones back in 2007..phones have come a long long way!
     
  21. CASUAL

    CASUAL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    hey dont other phones come with blockbuster?
    any news on when and if the captivate is going to get blockbuster..
    im the type of person who watches a movie once. i feel as if its going to be too much of a hassle to rent a movie and do "fancy stuff" on the computer to just watch it once.
     
  22. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    What do you mean, "Come with Blockbuster"?

    You mean an app to rent movies for pick up in the store?

    Or watching streaming online? People actually do that? That's what Netflix is for and few people I know with Netflix even use it for that. It's all about getting the media in your hands since online streaming sucks. On your phone it'll be even worse unless you're on wifi... and if you're at home using your wifi why not watch it on the TV or computer versus a 4" screen?

    Besides, Blockbuster filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy so don't hold your breath.
     
  23. mratlndmrk

    mratlndmrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    12
    I agree with this. Do not root if you're uncomfortable with it. I use a combination of hiding apps in the app drawer by using Launcher Pro and using Startup Cleaner 2.0 to keep the bloatware from loading at startup.
     
  24. RavenFox

    RavenFox VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    30
    Why would you tell someone to do this and risk bricking their phone? I'm sure if he was a pro at this the title and post would have been quite different.
     
  25. CASUAL

    CASUAL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    ch 11 is the good kind of bankruptcy they are still going to be in business..if they filed for ch 7 then they wouldn't exist anymore...

    i thought other phones had something blockbuster installed.. i saw a commercial..that said blockbuster pre installed

    i thought those guys could stream or download moviews for $10 a month or something.
     

Share This Page

Loading...