Just got my new work laptop!


Last Updated:

  1. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    [​IMG]



    Display Type: LED-backlit HD anti-glare


    Screen Size: 15.6”


    Maximum Resolution: 1366 x 768


    Memory Type: DDR3


    Memory Size: 4GB


    Memory Speed: DDR3 1066


    Memory Slots (Total): 2


    Memory Slots (Filled): 2


    Memory Slots (Available): 0


    Maximum Memory Supported: 8GB - 64-Bit


    Capacity: 500 GB


    HDD/SSD Drives Included: 1x 500GB


    Drive Types: Hard Drive


    Hard Drive Speed: 7200 RPM


    Processor Brand: Intel


    Processor Class: Core i5


    Processor Type: Dual-Core


    Processor Speed: 2.4GHz


    Processor Number: 450M


    Lifestyle: Business


    Condition: New


    Operating Systems: Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
    Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit


    Startup Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit


    Optional Operating Systems: Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit


    Platform: Laptop


    Expansion Ports: 1 - Express Card Slot/34


    Graphics Description: Discrete Graphics


    GPU/VPU: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4350


    Video Memory: 512MB VRAM


    Optical Drive Type: SuperMulti DVD
     

    Advertisement
  2. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Nice. You didn't go for more RAM? 4 GB seems standard now. Gotta go 6 GB!!
     
  3. tommy_ed

    tommy_ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    145
    nice! love all that ram capacity with 64 bit. (8 gigs wow!) i just got my HP G61 a couple months ago.... ehh, it's okay :rolleyes: i think i may end up trading for a nice desktop and then buying a really nice one :D god i love blowing money on useless shit
     
  4. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Unless you're doing some intense 3D modelling, would more RAM really be worth it?

    Nice machine Iowa, much better than my laptop! (which has a Turion x2 2.0Ghz processor...)


    Who doesn't? :rolleyes:
     
    IOWA likes this.
  5. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    131
    I'll stick to desktops but, that is a beast...
     
  6. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19,535
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    Pretty decent laptop! And the fact that it's a HP makes it better in my book. For some reason I've always like the quality of HP business-class laptops.

    With respect to the RAM yea I'd have gone with 6 or 8 gb if it were an available option. Does it need it? Probably not today but Win 7 64-bit supports it and a year or two down the road it'll likely come in handy.
     
  7. smroark

    smroark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    4
    If the machine (laptop or desktop) is used for gaming, 4gb is plenty unless you play Crysis 24/7 then you will need 6-8gb. Most games on the market dont make use of 4gb let alone more than 4gb.

    Any kind of 3D Modeling program and things like Photoshop will benefit from more Ram.
     
  8. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    57
    That RAM can handle most things, it's clocked at 1066 mhz, that's fast.

    Nice laptop, man.
     
  9. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Yep no problems running any of my Adobe cs5 programs. Premiere is sooo much faster than my old core2duo

    And I originally wanted a 17" but apparently compusa didnt have any left =( (at least within the work budget lol.. or mine for that matter!) So I opted for power over display. It has HDMI so that kind of makes up for it.
     
  10. Aiyan

    Aiyan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    40
    Lush laptop, wish I had your graphics since I don't have it on this one. Else the specs itself is quite close to each other. Sitting on a Lenovo T410 myself, this is the thinkpad series (business).
     
  11. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Yeah if I don't go business class I end up tearin' them up pretty good. It would be nice if work paid for a toughbook :) But this HP probook is purty darn nice. I haven't benchmarked the graphics card yet but it runs cs5 photoshop extended pretty easily.
     
  12. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    I can let you get on my Steam account if you want to, IOWA, I got PLENTY of games to run a stress test with. Try Dirt 2, see how well it runs DirectX 11 level graphics. Lol.
     
  13. Eugene

    Eugene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    41
    Is it a business grade machine, I didn;t see the model of it. I always gave my HP/Compaq reps a hard time when they would put a home model into the small business category because I knew it would cause problems later on when that small business expected business class support for it (I was a service center).
     
  14. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    [​IMG]

    Thats mine :)

    Built-in 27-inch (viewable) LED-backlit glossy widescreen TFT active-matrix liquid crystal display with IPS technology
    Resolution: 2560 by 1440 pixels
    2.93GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 processor with 8MB level 3 cache; supports Hyper-Threading and Turbo Boost
    ATI Radeon HD 5750 graphics processor with 1GB of GDDR5 memory
     
  15. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Last time I checked that's not a laptop :confused::confused:

    If your proud of that being your main box, you'd cry if you saw my workstation.
     
  16. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    Nice! I just got a Dell INSPIRON mini for work :(
     
  17. Bramsy

    Bramsy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    149
    IOWA pics of workstation requested... aaaand how much was that Laptop? boku bucks??
     
  18. irishjoeyo

    irishjoeyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    30
    I don't know which model IOWA's is, but I work for HP and they issued me a HP Compaq 6530b. What a pile. :(
     
  19. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    My laptop is an HP Probook 4520s.

    A picture of my workstation wouldn't do it justice, it's just a plain lookin box lol.
     
  20. Bramsy

    Bramsy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    149
    ...still its been REQUESTEEEEEEEEEED (in godlike voice)
     
  21. Chaznsc

    Chaznsc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    29
    I disagree, Toms hardware just did a report on this and claims that more than 4 are a benefit are over rated. Unless you are crunching some huge numbers 4gb is a lot of memory. And while 64 bit is nice, most applications are still 32 or 16 bit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...