Just got one - GPS and Google Navigation working fine


Last Updated:

  1. Don S

    Don S Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    180
    So I just got back from my local VZW store. No line. I immediately downloaded Google Maps. It installed and ran fine.

    Turned on Google Navigation and navigated home. GPS locked quickly, seemed accurate (within reason, maybe 25-50 feet) and gave perfect spoken turn-by turn directions. Woo hoo.

    I am gonna download some things and play for a while, but my # 1 concern looks to be appeased right now.
     

    Advertisement
    lonzom10, h0lby5 and tystevens like this.
  2. oPEEPINGTOMo

    oPEEPINGTOMo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    11
    I really hope that my conclusions over what most of the people seem to have experienced with the GPS are proven wrong so I can order this thing today and have it by tomorrow.
     
  3. durangojim

    durangojim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    470
    Can you try some voice commands within google maps like "Navigate to McDonalds" and see if it uses google maps or bing maps?
    Thanks!
     
  4. TheAlmightyDrew

    TheAlmightyDrew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    50
    I also have the phone now in my possession. Immediately I stepped out of Best Buy, I downloaded Google Maps. It took about 20-30 seconds because this was the first time I turned on Google Maps on the phone. Once it got going, it tracked my location no problem. As I was driving, it followed my location no problem. I stepped into my apartment, it took a little longer to track my location, but it did it no problem...

    I think the problem with these reviewers is that they failed to turn all the GPS settings on before testing the GPS. As far as I am concerned, the GPS works 100% fine at this point. Who knows what problems will occur over the next few days.
     
    lonzom10, h0lby5 and tystevens like this.
  5. durangojim

    durangojim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    470
    Could you try using the voice commands while in the maps app to see if that works? I use that often while driving.
     
  6. TheAlmightyDrew

    TheAlmightyDrew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    50
    The phone has both Voice Search and Voice Commands applications. Voice Search actually runs through Google Search...not Bing which was a refreshing surprise. I tried "Navigate to Starbucks" and sure enough it works perfectly. In a matter of seconds it was already leading me to the nearest Starbucks.
     
  7. durangojim

    durangojim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    470
    Great to know, thanks! Maybe I'll change my mind about this phone.:rolleyes:
     
  8. tystevens

    tystevens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    Fantastic! Thanks Drew.

    I can't wait to get mine later today -- should be delivered to my house in the next few hours. I'm not sure I can make it at work all day -- might have to take off a little early! Or maybe my wife will swing it by my office. Either way, I won't get much done this afternoon.

    Edit: and by the looks of it, I wont get too much done this morning, either, as I'm continue to read up on everything I want to do with the phone.
     
  9. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    What is the difference between the Voice Search and Voice Commands applications?
     

Share This Page

Loading...