Just imported a Nexus one into UK


Last Updated:

  1. fodd3r

    fodd3r Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hello everybody, I just bought a Nexus one and thought i would share the experience for any other UK peeps who maybe thinking about it.

    From the point of order it took about three days for DHL to deliver it. Cost wise when my bank did the exchange rate the phone with dock and shipping came to
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    You get used to the soft buttons, usually need to press them towards the top of the symbol.
     
  3. shankii

    shankii Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    nearly
     
  4. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Did you get the UK charger as well?
     
  5. fodd3r

    fodd3r Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yea sry that was with the Uk Charger.

    The dock was only about
     
  6. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Yeah that was $20 down the pan lol. I use an 80p shaver adaptor from ASDA with the supplied US charger :D

    If you have Latitude enabled then I can understand it draining your credit, it sends a lot of data.
     
  7. fodd3r

    fodd3r Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Never used lattitide to be honest, On O2 i called them to moan, The data used was nowhere near the charges, So i switched to three and it costs be about a
     
  8. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    Glad to hear you got your N1. I got mine with the UK adapter direct from Google but didn't seem to pay as much as you did.
    With the software buttons, you will get used to them. I found them horrible at first, in fact they do still annoy me, but once you learn where to press them its ok.
    Someone suggested swiping them upwards for better response which I've done a few times, just watch you don't hit something on the screen.

    Also, I'm with o2 on simplicity 15 with the smartphone web and wifi bolt on for an extra
     
  9. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Your exchange rate sucks!

    I got the phone for around
     
  10. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    The Pound has taken a nose-dive recently due to the possibility of a hung parliament.
     
  11. ianintod

    ianintod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I got my Nexus One from Google and am on the 3 network with a data package but the mobile Internet isn't working - is there a setting on the 'phone I've missed?
     
  12. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Probably.

    Go into the settings, then the wireless & networks setting, followed by mobile networks, In there you will find access point names.

    If you don't have anything in there, you'll get no data. If nothing in there, find out 3's settings (probably easier to look up the ones from the Hero, it'll be the same) and put them in.
     
  13. Soupdragon

    Soupdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    19
  14. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sorry can I point out blatant thread hijacking? Pointless. Search or make your own thread for the benefit of others.

    OP: The price you paid does seem high, I'm sure mine was
     
  15. bigfod

    bigfod Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    I paid about
     
  16. darkLuke

    darkLuke Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's kind interesting because when I bought mine (dont know how much exactly - that was a strange story) DHL didn't want to actually deliver it (I had holiday and was waiting for the phone and when I called them they said noone was at home - standard).
    Than I called them (after checking agreements and stuff) and asked what's going on. They had 8 days to deliver this package but they didn't. I called google and the said they will refound me money for delivery BUT (I was writing it only to say that) now i have me nexus few months and still I have nothing to pay (that
     
  17. noisemonkey

    noisemonkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had to pay
     

Share This Page

Loading...