Just Once or Always - how to undo?Support


Last Updated:

  1. light touch

    light touch Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've done a silly thing.
    I pressed the Always button in stead of the Just Once.
    Please tell me how to undo this setting.
    I was selecting ringtones and given the option when looking for my ringtone files. Grrhh.
    thanks,
     

    Advertisement
  2. SebaKL

    SebaKL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    226
    Go to Settings - Application Manager - view ALL.

    Find the app you loved so much to set it for "always" :) , and clear the Defaults". It's at the lower part of the screen, so if not visible, scroll.
     
    smoggy333, joesixpack and light touch like this.
  3. light touch

    light touch Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah! That's how I missed it. Thank you so much for your help, esp the speedy reply. Great. I am happy now:beer:
     
  4. joesixpack

    joesixpack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    82
    Who at Google thought this was a good idea? I've hated this "feature" since my GNex. I never can commit to an "Always" on anything (except my Nova launcher).
     
  5. SebaKL

    SebaKL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    226
    DITTO!
    Nova = Always

    For me this is an on going love/hate relationship.

    Whenever I open a link and I'm asked to make the choice when I don't need it, I look at that damn menu and hate the extra step. But when I need it, I'm only too happy to be given the choice :)
     
  6. Goodspike

    Goodspike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    143
    It applies to things besides links to websites. For example, for a link to an address I want it to always pick Google Maps/Navigation.

    But you're right, for a lot of things I will always want the choice.
     
  7. lotus49

    lotus49 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    230
    Someone who knew what they were doing.

    It would infuriate me if I had to answer this question 100 times a day. Once I decide which app I like best, I always pick "Always".
     
  8. s4 fan

    s4 fan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi, I cleared the defaults for Chrome and Internet and other apps I opened but I still don't get the choice menu.
    Thanks
     
  9. RhysLlewellyn

    RhysLlewellyn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    MX player for all video is fine by me. Being able to adjust volume and brightness from touching the screen... I love that app.

    One thing that I wish I could set to always is when browsing through contacts... I have postcodes (zip codes for the Americans) stored in contacts details as you normally would... If I press on the postcode I have the option for map but not directly to navigate!? So I have to press additional buttons.

    However I've heard a lot of people talk about waze so I've downloaded that and it appears as an option to "always use" when clicking on postcodes in my contacts list.
     
  10. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    509
    Either you haven't cleared the right app, or there is no second choice (e.g., if Chrome is the only browser you have installed, anytime a function needs to access a browser it will open Chrome without asking
     
  11. dierna

    dierna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm having a problem on both my Note 8.0 and my S4, so I'm thinking this is a Samsung problem.

    I'm having trouble getting these two devices to remember my default app choices. For example, if I want to download a PDF from a webpage that I've opened in Chrome, it gives me three apps that I can use to download the PDF... Internet (which I've disabled, so you'd think it would stop showing up), Chrome, and MoonReader.

    I want to use Chrome, so I select it and tap "Always", and it gives me a message saying "clear default app settings by going to Settings / Application Manager / All".

    I have already cleared the default app settings, and this message ALWAYS comes up when I want to download a new PDF. It never seems to remember my choice. It isn't PDF specific. I have this issue with opening YouTube links, and when opening links embedded in emails, and a few other things occasionally.

    I did not have this problem with my previous phone, which was a Galaxy S2X, but I do have it on both of my brand new Samsung devices.
     
  12. lanhamanthony

    lanhamanthony New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hit home , apps , settings,goto app manager then goto all. Press the menu key(the button with the three horizontal lines next to home key) choose reset app defaults or preference. Will not delete any data just defaults. There you go.
     
  13. dmat5

    dmat5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It asks me which program do I want to use: Photos or Video Player? But Photos is not under app manager > All, and Video Player has the "clear defaults" button inactive. So how the **** do I chose one of those programs as my default app?
     
  14. DcSc2007

    DcSc2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here can someone help
     

Share This Page

Loading...