Just rooted. Cannot get 3G service


Last Updated:

  1. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Running HTC Incredible. I just used unrevoked to root. Had no issues. But now, i can make calls, but no data. Shows no 3G service. Any help??
     

    Advertisement
  2. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    Could be area specific, mine is strange, on my Eris it would kick right on all the time, and with the DInc sometimes it's real fast, and other times it takes about 30 seconds or so. I'm getting a brand new one on Wed. in replace of this one, so I will play with it a bit so I have something non-rooted to go by since I rooted this one within minutes of turning it on lol.

    also try *228 option 2// if you haven't allready.
     
  3. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Still nothing. Tried *228. Unrooting to see if i can re-root.
     
  4. yankeeboy

    yankeeboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    Not for nothing, but check the EVRC settings.

    I think that when I rooted the last time that it was preset to EVRC-B, which in remote areas might cause connectivity issues.
    1. Go to Phone and Dial ##778
    2. Choose Edit Mode
    3. Password is 000000
    4. Go to CDMA Settings
    5. Scroll all the way to bottom
    6. Change Home Page, Home Orig, and Roam Orig from EVRC-B to EVRC
    7. Hit Menu and Commit Changes
    If you go into these settings and they are already EVRC, don't change them. EVRC-B is an enhanced voice quality setting but it is only in more metropolitan areas and some have reported not being able to make phone calls or have data connectivity with this enabled
     
    Jedii likes this.
  5. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Great post guys, but still not resolving the no data connectivity issue. Any additional help would be great. Thanks everyone.
     
  6. tco05

    tco05 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    The only advice I would offer would be to unroot and reroot. It's not difficult after you do it the first time and have an understanding of how it works.
     
  7. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    I tried that. twice now. still no luck.
     
  8. tco05

    tco05 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you getting data on stock setup still?
     
  9. tco05

    tco05 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also, did you do the OTA radio update for 2.xx.xx?
     
  10. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    *228 option 1 or 3 to reprogram worked for me the one time that happned. Or did you use a Froyo leak? if so try toggling airplane mode on-off and see if it pops up
     
  11. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Tried it all guys. I think i may have just had something weird go during root. Back in my Motorola Droid now.
     
  12. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    Call Customer Service. One of my Eris' had a problem with 3g were it started to not hold a connection and would cut in and out, and also took forever to connect to 3g in the first place, they replaced it.

    I am getting a brand new DInc tomorrow in place of the one I received on the 7/27 for diff. reasons. and I had it rooted and when rooted it was strange with how long it took to connect to 3g. Once I UN-rooted I started playing around a bit with it, and not it connects instantaneous.
     
  13. Bearly

    Bearly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Have you seen the thread about losing 3G data service if you do a factory wipe/reset?

    I take it you HAD to do that (wipe) because you have to when you unroot.
     
  14. RickSizz

    RickSizz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Listen, its possible you had a hardware problem with your phone and you "brought it out" when rooted it... bite the bullet and trade it in... your issue is unique... good luck my friend.
     
  15. khanusma

    khanusma Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0

    Actually something very similar has happened to me. My data was working fine before I rooted and went to Froyo (with the OTA radio leak).

    Now my data only comes up after 1 out of 5 reboots.

    I have tried many different things (except for unrooting and rerooting) but I just wanted to chime in that others out there may be having similar issues.
     
  16. djkms

    djkms Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    2 options to get 3g service back.

    1:
    Go into airplane mode and back out.

    2:
    Menu/Settings/Wireless & Networks/Mobile Networks/System Select - choose Home Only. This worked for me

    I also did a reboot and did *228 (probably not necessary but I did it anyway)

    Hope this helps
     
  17. yankeeboy

    yankeeboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    I had a similar problem with mine, and yesterday realized that Always On Data was unchecked. It would never click back to 3G or 1X. I rechecked it, rebooted and all is good since. Just a thought
     

Share This Page

Loading...