Just Rooted lastnight! :-) Have a question on a ROM.


Last Updated:

  1. NewShockerGuy

    NewShockerGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks to this site information and the xda's forum as well I rooted my phone last night. I removed some of the sprint bloatware and am quite pleased that everything went very smoothly.

    I did two things. I loaded the recovery image on the phone as well v1.5.2 and did a backup using nandroid for the freshly rooted phone. I removed the crap I didn't want and then ran another backup so I have two different copies....

    Then I started browsing the thread on here to show you everyone's screens and was looking at the different ROMS...

    Here is my question. I know to load a rom you download, rename it to update.zip. Stick it in the root directory of the sdcard and then boot into the recovery console of the android and then UPDATE from Zip.

    What I am on the fense about is if I should do this and what if I don't like it. Worst case senario, if I DO not like it can I just boot back into the recovery console and then RESTORE my nandroid backup and it will overright the ROM?

    Sorry if this seems like a silly question but I can't decide it I want to do the Fresh rom or another rom... not really sure what the differences are of them but I am just wondering if one doesn't like how do you switch back? Is it what I described above or do I download the stock CDMA sprint htc hero rom and then rename that to update.zip and then launch it from the recovery console?

    Thanks,
    -Nigel
     

    Advertisement
  2. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    No need to rename the zip file. Copy to SD, boot to recovery and install from zip.

    I have Fresh 1.2, Modoco 2.0, Android 2.1 1.87, and something else on my SD card that I can swap back and forth to rather quickly.

    Easier to take a backup after you configure a ROM the way you like it, then rename your backups to make sense to you and restore what you want to run.

    Copy backups to your computer.

    I think you should have used 1.5.6 instead of 1.5.2 as an image though. Read through xda.
     
  3. NewShockerGuy

    NewShockerGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yep, I read it and the newer version was 1.5.2 for the recovery if you have a sprint htc hero. That works fine for me.

    Just so that I can clairfy what you are saying.

    I can have Fresh*version*.zip and Modoco *version*.zip on my sdcard. Boot into the recovery and then just do update from zip. And can switch back and forth?

    The question I have though is when I looked at the nandroid backup I did, it was not a .zip file. Would I have to zip it up and then call it (without quote) "StockRomRooted.zip?

    I am just a little confused on the restoring if I do NOT like a rom...etc
    IE: I install Fresh rom tonight. I end up not liking it whatsoever... I restart phone via recovery console and then restore from backup to my stock rooted htc nandroid backup that I took last night that is still currently residing on the SD card along with a copy on my pc.

    Thanks again,
    -Nigel
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Correct.

    You shouldn't need to zip it, just leave it the way it is (but rename it...wish I'd thought of that earlier lol)

    Right again. Nandroid backup/restore undoes everything (that I know of)
     
  5. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is how I understand it, this may be OVER simplified, but should put things in prospective.

    There are two memory areas on the phone. A place where your settings are stored (cleared when selecting WIPE in recovery) and a place where the ROM for the phone is.

    Many of these roms, at least Fresh and Modoco seem to only write to the ROM portion of memory. Meaning, they change the software the phone runs, but not all your settings / apps / etc. (I am not touching on apps2sd as that can totally change things)

    So when you flash you put new software on your phone, like a new operating system.

    When you backup, it copies all your ROM and user settings and writes them to a nandroid directory on your SD card.

    When you restore, it looks in the nandroid directory for any backups and lets you restore anything you have there. Why renaming them helps make them descriptive for you.

    I have fresh how I like it, then made a backup. I loaded up the Android 2.1 beta to test it out, played with it, then restored Fresh 1.1 (took about 2 mins) and my phone was back to the way I like it.

    I am now playing with Modoco 2.0. Seems nice, but I have a backup of fresh I can roll back to within minutes if I need.

    Hell, I can roll back to my stock image anytime I need as well.

    I have an 8gb card, so I can keep lots of ROMs and backups without worrying about space.

    Final edit:
    The sig is cute, the first time you see it.....
     
  6. NewShockerGuy

    NewShockerGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wow!!!

    I honestly thought it was harder than that!! KICK ASS!

    Good to know about being able to rename the nandroid backups.. I left them the defualt naming scheme to be safe. I will rename them when I get home!

    This is so awesome! Trying both roms tonight when I get home!!! Sooo excited!!!

    :)

    -Nigel
     
  7. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    I haven't tried any other ROM ...I'm sticking with Fresh 1.1. ROM because I'm really satisfied with it..

    Although I need to update recovery 1.2.3 to 1.5.2 ....but some people in the xda forum been telling me 1.5.2 has issues that need to be fixed, i'll wait for the fix.
     

Share This Page

Loading...