Just rooted my HTC Incredible, what ROM should I use?


Last Updated:

  1. zhill29

    zhill29 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    7
    I just successfully rooted my Incredible running 2.2 Froyo. What ROM should I use with it?

    If you have multiple options could you list a couple pro's and con's.

    Also, does anyone have a link to a good 'how to' on installing ROMs? I think I have the basic idea but I love my phone and don't wanna wreck it so I want to do things to the letter!

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. rtm0004

    rtm0004 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    9
    download rom manager from the market, this is the easiest way to change ROMs. it will also let you make a nandroid backup, which you should always do before flashing a different ROM, it gives you a point to revert back to should something go wrong

    before you change, you should download titanium backup and backup all your apps (I recommend actually buying it, it's the only app I've paid for)

    As for what ROM you choose, it's all personal preference, some look just like sense, some look totally different

    this is a good place to start Guides - The Incredible List along with this forum
     
  3. mightymousehhd4

    mightymousehhd4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am using vitrtuous, mostly because of how "stock" it is. There are a BUNCH of options, but it really depends on how how feel about each one. The best place to look would be ROMs - The Incredible List as it is usually right up to date. You can also check under all things root and then the ROMS option at the top. For instructions on how to do that there is a complete thread on how to...but yo save time, Howto: Root the HTC Droid Incredible - Technology - Jonamerica.com . The best thing to do is to just use the ROM manager from the market and download from there. Definitely go with the paid option! If you have any other questions just ask, but make sure to do a search first ;)
     
  4. jjfreak5

    jjfreak5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am using Cyanogen 6.0.2, but that is because I love vanilla android instead of sense. I know not a lot of Incredible owners are in that same boat though.

    UD 1.0.0 is also a good choice for vanilla android. It has a lot of options and I ran it on my Droid 1 for a while. I cannot give you comparisons to the sense roms as the only one I used was the stock rooted 2.2 rom, and I was not a fan of sense, but might be because I came from vanilla android on my D1.
     
  5. zhill29

    zhill29 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    7
    One more question. I keep reading stuff about needing "version 2 radio" when looking for ROMs what exactly does this mean? Is it something to do with the 3G radio? Or something I install?

    Thanks again.
     
  6. REYES

    REYES Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    4
    I would stay away from ROM manager as it is known to cause issues with certain ROMs not to mention it doesn't let you clear Dalvik like you would want to do while replacing kernels and ROMs. I would just learn how to download the install.zip's and install via clockworkmod. ROM manager should just be used as a side gadget to download small things like boot animations.

    Radio just means you have 2.2 radio (2.xx), it'll show up in your "About phone" settings as "Baseband". If you had 2.1 Eclair, I believe your radio version would be 1.xx. Don't quote me though.
     
  7. TheBeardedMann

    TheBeardedMann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    21
    If you need a how-to for installing ROMs, use ROM Manager. Start off with Virtuous and the Incredible Revolution theme. Once you understand what you are doing, then you start installing ROMs from the SD Card with ROM Manager. I personally have not had one issue with ROM Manager and I have changed ROMs many-a-times.
     
  8. REYES

    REYES Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    4
    Although homeboy above me hasn't had any issues, it isn't that way for everyone.

    ROM manager just adds another step to the process that is not needed. Like having another splitter in your cable connection that leads to a brickwall. It's unnecessary. I would say if you are capable of rooting your phone, you are capable of installing a ROM.

    Don't be afraid to learn to do it. It's addicting when you learn how.
     
  9. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    1. Rom Manager is not an extra step, it is less steps when installing a ROM. I install some things with ROM manager and others with clockwork directly but I do this mostly because I like having direct control over what gets done when a full rom is installed.
    2. How do you know dalvik cache does not get wiped when a rom is installed from Rom Manager? I'm not saying you are wrong but I'd like to see something more than hear-say on this.
     
  10. rtm0004

    rtm0004 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    9
    with the full version of ROM manager, you can clear dalvik
     
  11. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    Do you have to turn on advanced mode for this? I had not noticed the advanced mode until just now.
     
  12. REYES

    REYES Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    4
    Like, ey ese, I'ma send you a email bomb using Nostradamus 1.0 via AOL 4.0 if you don't agree with me holmes.


    Shows how much I use ROM manager. Why pay for it when I can do it manually for free? Yeah yeah, to donate to the Devs, we get it.

    Okay, let me rephrase, it is more time for the "automation" to misfire rather than you screwing up yourself and regardless how perfect it is for you and many others. There is a completely opposing side where it ****s up. Just like the 07.28/09.01 radio debate.

    I knew because it would say Dalvik, but now you know because "homeboy#2" says it is in the premium version. Hehe.
     
  13. TheBeardedMann

    TheBeardedMann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hahaha! You must be old like me.
     
  14. REYES

    REYES Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    4
    At least someone has a sense of humor around here, haha.
     
  15. rtm0004

    rtm0004 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    9
    Honestly, I haven't tried it yet, I'm waiting for my bigger SD card to get here before I flash any more ROMs

    I know there is a forum just for titanium backup that may have the answer or emailing the dev?

    EDIT: not ROM manager, I meant Titanium Backup!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...