Just rooted on 2.2....a couple of questions.

Last Updated:

1. SoupAssassin

SoupAssassin Active Member This Topic's Starter

S-Off because I never rooted with 2.1. Process went smooth as butter, little dialogue box tells you how awesome everything is going (literally) while the phone reboots like mad. I was surprised to find you don't actually need the Android SDK, which is odd because most guides deem in necessary. I had it "installed", but it was not yet done downloading all of the revision files when I started the unrevoked process by accident. Props to unrevoked and all of their work. As a coder myself it always amazes me to see people doing so much work for next to nothing but others benefit. Coding is an absolute hell on Earth, managing to be both complex and utterly BORING at the same time; so seriously, thanks for making this tool better and better.

Anywho, the questions....

1. I have an S-Off file on my sd card now. I am assuming it is a verifying byproduct of the process, and is meant to be deleted. It doesn't seem to contain any information worth keeping around; but I thought I should check since I am pretty new to the world of Android rooting.

2. As far as I understand root is root, and once the process is complete there is no reason to "update" the root or HBOOT with newer revisions of unrevoked unless another OTA releases. However clockwork mod seems to be a much more in depth tool capable of a lot of things; so is there reason to update clockwork with newer revisions? If so, is it an easy process such as an update file, or does it require re-doing the root process?