Just Rooted, SetCPU


Last Updated:

  1. namoroman

    namoroman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    8
    I searched the forums for something like this, sorry if I missed it somehow.

    I recently rooted my EVO (Tonight!) I downloaded SetCPU so the processor will run faster when its awake and slower when its not. I can't for the life of me seem to figure out how the heck to get it to overclock. I don't see the word anywhere in the app, and the slide bar only goes up to 998 mhz (my Evo's max?) Is it in the other menu settings I don't quite get? Any help would be great.
     

    Advertisement
  2. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Are you running a custom kernel? If not, you will not be able to overclock and you can only underclock if you disable perflock through the SetCPU menu.
     
  3. namoroman

    namoroman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ah, that explains it. I'm just running a stock ROM & kernel for now. Perflock is disabled. Thanks for the answer!
     
  4. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    If you are running the stock kernel, you must disable perflock after each boot in order for SetCPU to work properly.
     
  5. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    You also have to press menu and go to device selection and use the auto detect speeds, and that will give you more options to work from.
     
  6. namoroman

    namoroman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for the advice. Am I correct in thinking using SetCPU to underclock when the screen is off helps increase battery life?
     
  7. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    If you are on a stock kernel, yes. If you are using a kernel with HAVS implemented, no.
     

Share This Page

Loading...