Just upgraded to xtrROM 4.6; where's the abundance of space???


Last Updated:

  1. hdevine

    hdevine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just upgraded to xtrROM 4.6 on my Eris. I did a full wipe of the data, dalvik cache, and SD card. I also had done a Titanium Backup of my apps. When my phone came back up, I reinstalled Titanium Backup and restored my apps. Now, when I look at my space, I have 21 meg left. I was under the impression that I was going to have in the neighborhood of 150meg left.

    Did I do something wrong? I had my apps installed on my SD card when I had 4.0.6.1 installed. Did I have to do any gscript commands to get the new cache2cache stuff to work?

    Thanks for any help!
    Harry
     

    Advertisement
  2. mistaj33

    mistaj33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    32
    Unfortunately, I would point my finger at Titanium backup. I'm thinking it may have restored data into the wrong place maybe? Not too sure, but I know people are having issues with it when coming from Froyo ROMs as well.
     
  3. hdevine

    hdevine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    6
    I guess that's possible. When I did the Titanium Backup, I did apps plus system data, so I obviously restored that. Could that be an issue? Also, I found the cache2cache.sh script for GScript. I ran it but only got 35 meg total (from 21).

    Any thoughts?
    Harry
     
  4. ksyrium

    ksyrium Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    The doc for xtrROM mentions this:

    Cache Location (Cache2cache):

    By default, the dalvik-cache has been relocated from the internal /data/dalvik-cache/ directory to the internal /cache/dalvik-cache directory. The Eris comes with an internal /cache/ file block of 130mb that is not used! After reviewing a number of xda member file system usage reports (thanks xtrROM and xtrSENSE users!) the MOST reported use of this space was 5%... So by moving the dalvik-cache to this free area you now have over 150mb on internal /data/ for apps and over 75mb in internal /cache/ for dalvik-cache. This means that you can probably install close to 100 apps WITHOUT having to partition and move anything to the SD Card ext!

    You can also move the dalvik-cache to your sd card ext or back to the stock internal /data/ file block.

    So why does my Settings>SD card & phone storage>Internal phone storage only show 150mb or less? This is because this number ONLY reflects the /data/ file block on your phone and does not "see" the /cache/ block that is now being used for dalvik-cache storage. You can run the GScript report_system_settings script to see amount available in /cache/.
     
  5. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    How many apps do you have installed?

    For the future, I'd seriously recommend restoring only user apps and data, and leave the system apps alone. The ones that are green in Titanium are probably ok to restore, but I would do it this way:

    restore user apps+data
    nandroid backup
    restore the green system apps+data
    if you have problems, Nandroid restore from step 2.

    If you have a lot of apps, you may want to use apps2sd again.
     
  6. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yeah, don't restore system settings with Titanium, just the user apps and their data. Also, did you by chance reformat your SD card and remove the partition for apps2SD? That might be another reason the apps didn't get reinstalled to your SD.

    You must have a lot of apps, because I thought I had a lot and still have just over 54MB of internal memory left and I don't have apps2SD set up.
     
  7. hdevine

    hdevine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    6
    I didn't format my SD card, and I was thinking that since I would gain some more internal memory, I wouldn't have any use for apps2sd any longer. I think I'll reformat everything (full wipe, dalvik-cache, and SD card), re-flash and reinstall my apps manually. I'm sure I have some goof ones that I really, really don't need.

    Thanks for the tips!
    Harry
     
  8. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Note that JUST formatting the SD card won't remove the Ext partition. To do that you'd have to go into recovery and do the same steps that you did to create the partition, but set the sizes to 0k.
     
  9. zach.xtr

    zach.xtr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    I happen to be surfing this way tonight and saw the post.

    I would suggest running the save and clear log GScript and posting the output so we can see what setting are on and how much spaces is being used by the apps you installed via Ti Backup...

    If you were running apps2sd how many apps do you have?

    Hope this helps!
     
  10. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    I thought it was automatic? after reinstalling my apps (32) i had 96mb free space.

    same result after flasing 4.6 release tonight
     
  11. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Zach! (deep bow).
    You honor us with your presence. :)

    For those who don't know, Zach creates the xtr ROMs, so his suggestion is clearly one that should be taken seriously.
     
  12. Peter123

    Peter123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    24
    I also have 4.0.6.1 and I am thinking to upgrade to 4.6 (is that a release version?)

    1. Is it worth upgrading? What do I gain?

    2. I am using apps2sd and cache2cache. I also have Ti- backup.
    Could someone please post an easy to follow step-by-step instruction
    to do the upgrade so I don't mess up?

    Thanks,
    Peter
     
  13. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Here is the change log for xtrROM, so you can see what all has been added since 4.06.
    xda-developers - View Single Post - [ROM][GPL][10/4/2010] xtrROM4.6 [cache2cache,apps2sd,jit,lwp,oc,flash10]

    1) download new ROM and put it on root of your SD card.
    2) Titanium backup of all user apps and data (you could also do ALL apps and data, but get the user apps for sure. That will get the ones you've downloaded from the Market or elsewhere.
    3) Boot into Recovery.
    4) Nandroid backup, in case you want to go back.
    5) Wipe data and dalvik.
    6) Flash new ROM.
    7) Reboot phone, don't panic when it takes several minutes to load new ROM.
    8) Download Titanium Backup from the Market.
    9) Using TB, restore user apps and data. (I don't restore systems apps, as I've had times when the old system app conflicted with the new one).
    10) Enjoy the new ROM. :)
     
  14. RunamuckRez

    RunamuckRez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Gents,

    I didn't want to start a new thread since one close to the topic already exists. I flashed xtrRom 4.6 yesterday from 4.2 4.2 was working really well, but for some reason I started getting issue's where I couldn't access my calendar and my sync. I would get FC whenever I opened one or the other. After reading how Titanium Backup can cause weird issues when you save system apps + data, I did the full wipe/factory reset/davlink wipe and just backed up user apps + data. Flashed the ROM, set everything up, ran TB and restored the user apps + data, presumably to the Cache. With 25 user apps give or take, I'm showing on internal phone storage 69 -71 mb worth of space. Does this seem correct? I was under the impression that with Cache2Cache enabled, the internal phone storage wouldn't be used. I did run Apps and Cache to internal just to see how much memory would be left and it was significantly less, but I figured I would have alot more space still open with Cache2Cache in effect. Any thoughts on this? I am also running Launcher Pro plus, and the weather + Toggle widget. I did free up some space by deleting all the skins.


    Rez
     

Share This Page

Loading...