Just want root access

Last Updated:

1. reservoirdog

reservoirdog New Member This Topic's Starter

Hi!

I've got a Sprint Hero with Android 2.1 (.6 and not .5 as required for unrevoked).

All I want is root access (no custom roms) for some applications (mainly WiFi tether). I'm a complete noob to rooting and what I gathered from the guides is that all data is erased. Is there any way (regardless of how complicated) such taht I don't lose any data/apps and just gain root access?

Advertisement
  2. Joehunni

Joehunni Well-Known Member

For you to root from the .6 software update, you'd have to ruu back to the .5 version first. The ruu is what wipes your phone though not rooting, so you only have to worry about it happening once.

3. grosser

grosser Active Member

How would we go back to the .5 version? I also am interested but have the .6 version. I used to have the original 2.1 upgrade on my computer but can't find it now, so I think I might have deleted it. Now I can't find the .5 version.

4. ccapasso

ccapasso Well-Known Member

grosser likes this.
  5. FdxRider

FdxRider Well-Known Member

grosser likes this.
  6. wrench

wrench Well-Known Member

I have Sprint 2.1(.6). I have a few questions:

1. If I understand correctly, I need to run the .5 RUU, which will restore the phone to a factory fresh Sprint 2.1(.5)?

2. So what's the best way to backup data? Obviously gmail takes care of my contacts, and I can move pics and videos to dropbox. But what about text messages (not GVoice texts), and application data, like stocks in the stock market app, lists in Grocery IQ, browser bookmarks, etc? What about the applications downloaded from the market - do I need to redownload all those individually?