Keep the old plan (coming from a dumb phone)?


Last Updated:

  1. geeknik_old

    geeknik_old Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,

    First, hello! This is my first post here (though I've been lurking for at least a couple of months).

    Second, I searched the forum, but didn't find an answer to my question. Though I apologize in advance if I missed it.

    Anyway, I've had the same phone since 2005 (yes, for real - a Nokia 6682) and have been with the carrier ever since (then Cingular). I've been excited about the prospects of getting a good Android device on AT&T for some time now, and with the Captivate release date finally nailed down, I'm thinking this is the one. Though if possible, I'd like to keep my current plan. I'm on the $39.99/mo voice package (450 + 5000night/weekends with unlimited in-network calling) and the $30/mo "Mobile Web Package" which includes unlimited data and texts. I've clicked through the upgrade process for my phone online a number of times, and it seems as though if I sign a new two year contract, I have to select a different plan (I'm pretty sure the $30 unlimited text/data plan is no longer available).

    Is there a way to keep my current plan and upgrade my phone (that is, without buying the device straight out)?

    Thanks!

    -geeknik
     

    Advertisement
  2. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    I don't think so. I reenabled my 2nd line on my family plan, just before the new data plans took effect. Since I was "bringing my own phone" (unlocked Nokia N900), they put me on the $30/mo. unlimited data/text plan, and also with "no contract".

    I think if you upgrade to a smart phone, they will change the plan, esp. if its subsidized.
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30,739
    Likes Received:
    23,361
    If you are going from the same class of phone, they cannot require you to change your plan. However, smartphones are required to carry a specific data plan. Actually, based on what I've seen, unless you plan on streaming movies and downloading 10 albums a month over 3G, the plans look pretty reasonable. If you keep an eye on it and save your big downloads for when you're using WiFi, you should be able to save a few bucks.
     
  4. geeknik_old

    geeknik_old Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the thoughts.

    I had been on a itty bitty data plan (something like 5mb/mo) but upgraded it when AT&T announced unlimited was going to be going away, with the thought that I'd be getting a phone that's not a half decade old in the near future.

    I'm on my work's FAN account (or whatever it's called) so they cut a few percent off the bill. I'll see what they say, but it sounds like I may have my head in the clouds.

    Believe it or not, I'm pretty sure the Nokia was considered a smartphone, when got it.
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    "Subsidized" smartphones require the smartphone data plan. Many unlocked/unsubsidized smartphones do not.
     
  6. nb_mitch

    nb_mitch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    42
    I don't believe that is true of most carriers anymore. They can tell what device is on their network and will automatically change your plan to a smart-phone plan.

    On the positive side, if you can spend most of your data usage on a Wifi hotspot, then that is free, so you might be about to get away with the $15/mo 200M plan instead of the $30/2G plan.

    U will need to get a separate text plan, I guess, I don't do text, but it is part of the phone plan not a data plan feature.
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Fair enough, but AT&T put me on the $15/mo data (+$15/mo text) when I took my n900 "into the store" to re-establish my account.

    I, as well as many others, have various "smartphones" (again, my n900) on T-Mobile's $10/mo data plan.
     
  8. geeknik_old

    geeknik_old Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the thoughts, every one.

    I guess I'll have to figure out which data package to pick up. Though if the 350 off-contract price rumors hold up, I'm tempted to go that route, stick in my sim and cross my fingers.

    -geeknik
     
  9. tsanuri

    tsanuri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    44

    Since it is a phone that is branded to them there is almost no chance you will get it to work. Just a heads up.
    What stinks is there are many people that are in the same position you are in that have had regular phones on unlimited data plans for quite awhile and with the data change they did not give it to them. I know I am one of them as well. But if you feel you need the unlimited data there is a workaround. You just have to find an iPhone 2G to put on your account and activate it. Since it has a special data plan it is grandfathered under the unlimited smartphone plan.
     
  10. aekhhi

    aekhhi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1

    go onto your wireless account online and look at the current usage you have already used. if you usually use your phone as much as you have with the data, you'll be able to get a good idea at what plan you need
     

Share This Page

Loading...