Kernel help pls


Last Updated:

  1. alator20

    alator20 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kernel]FPS 'fix' for Epson screens (WIP tearing fix, now testing @ 55fps
    i just installed this kernel, not sure i did it right, only getting 30fps

    i downloaded to my sd card and went into recovery mode and flashed, i also did a dalvik cache wipe

    any idea? Am i missing something?
     

    Advertisement
  2. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    what rom is this for? does it need a full reset + wipe cache in addition to wipe dalvik?
     
  3. alator20

    alator20 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    you have the 0.5.3 fresh rom.

    I don't know why you are doing this. Using the fresh updater, if im reading this right, you should be able to download and flash the fps fix.

    i have fresh 1.0 and got it and have hit 54 FPS on FPS2D

    did you make a nandroid before flashing this?

    what are you getting only 30 FPS on?
     
  5. alator20

    alator20 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    well im on 5.3 and did the fresh update for kernel with fps unlocked..... still getting only

    30 fps on fps2d
     
  6. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    which recovery are you using?

    and did (again) did you make a nandroid?
     
  7. alator20

    alator20 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i did do one, and im using clockwork recovery and still getting 30 fps
     
  8. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    when did you do one. and what did you do before, and after.
     
  9. alator20

    alator20 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did a nan back up first then i downloaded the kernel to the sd card, then i did a wipe, then i flashed the kernel.....

    tell me what to do to get what you have
     
  10. Velocd

    Velocd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    You are certain you have an Epson Panel? Second, if you are running Fresh .5.3 I would flash over amon ra recovery. Plays nice with the Fresh Updater unlike Clockwork Recovery which ON the Fresh Flipz states that Clockwork does not work with his updater.
     
  11. blu3g

    blu3g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    18
    Velocd is right. Are you sure you have an epson screen? If you have a novatek screen then you are using the wrong kernel. Ffolks has a kernel that breaks the 30 fps over at xda for evo's with novatek displays.
     
  12. Velocd

    Velocd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
  13. blu3g

    blu3g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    18
    If you want to know which screen you have, do adb shell dmesg > somefile.txt and look at the file. It will either be fill with epson or novatek.
     
  14. alator20

    alator20 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. Velocd

    Velocd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do that first, then search the txt file for epson or nova. Whatever comes up is the screen you have. Then redownload the zip file for the correct screen. Second, which recovery are you running, clockwork or RA? Third, dont go and flash different kernels all willy nilly like that, you are bound to do something bad to your Evo.


    Flashing RA Recovery

    If you are using a Fresh Rom you need to flash over RA recovery. You can do this the manual way.
    [Recovery] [18-June-2010] RA-evo-v1.7.0.1 - xda-developers

    Or through ROM manager. Scroll all the way to the bottom, select flash alternate recovery.
     
  16. Daft Punk

    Daft Punk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    44
    Rooted with EVREVOKED 3 this morning. Flashed the FPS fix just now.............


    [​IMG]


    no roms, just stock atm.
     
  17. blu3g

    blu3g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    18
  18. pippin65

    pippin65 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think,being a noob, that adb is like a command interface....I have no idea how to use it...is there an alternate way to tell which screen I have???
     

Share This Page

Loading...