• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.
Kevlar is very flexible.

Well carbon fiber is too until it meets resin. I work in the body armor business and see kevlar that is flexible (vest) and kevlar that is hard and stiff (riot shield) just figured stiff would be a better option since having flexible kevlar on a phone does absolutely nothing for strength.because its not bullet proof, so the kevlar in reality does nothing to help the phones overall strength.

Upvote 0
Well carbon fiber is too until it meets resin. I work in the body armor business and see kevlar that is flexible (vest) and kevlar that is hard and stiff (riot shield) just figured stiff would be a better option since having flexible kevlar on a phone does absolutely nothing for strength.because its not bullet proof, so the kevlar in reality does nothing to help the phones overall strength.

It has to do something to help the phone, or why would they bother and not just make the back plain plastic.

Upvote 0
It has to do something to help the phone, or why would they bother and not just make the back plain plastic.

Same reason car companies make the dash look like carbon fiber. It looks cool. Actually, when engineers want something strong and light, they use carbon fiber. Kevlar is never used to build something for strength. For example the Corvette Z06 is made with lots of carbon fiber, not kevlar.

Upvote 0
Ps. Kevlar can be very strong. My point is I find it hard to believe its real kevlar. Because if they used resin the kevlar back would be hard as glass. It seems as its just something glued to plastic. I love this phone but just found this to be misleading because the way they put it on the phone, made Nothing kevlar strong.

Upvote 0