Keying in Long Lat coordinates in an app


Last Updated:

  1. rotor george

    rotor george Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm looking for an app that I can key in known Long/Lat coordinates for a specific location, then based on my GPS coordinates, will tell me distance and direction to that location via a map display.

    Does anyone know of one?
    Thanks

    G
     

    Advertisement
  2. pbwhite

    pbwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    I can think of 3, but all are really geocaching apps.

    Geobeagle, gcdroid and Cache 'n' Go are all solutions to what you're trying to accomplish, though perhaps with a little more 'noise' than an app that just did what you're trying to do.
     
  3. rotor george

    rotor george Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the info, thats a start! I'll look into them.
     
  4. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    You might also want to look at My Points of Interest, or POI Search.

    I think I'm going to buy My Points of Interest as that seems to be the most robust, and I've heard good things about that dev.
     
  5. rotor george

    rotor george Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    @pbwhite, I checked out the apps you mentioned, you're right they are more of a geocache type app, but I appreciate your help.

    @messenger13, My Points of Interest is close, as you can enter an address or location. So I tried to enter coordinates of a known spot (in Florida) but ended up near in Romania somewhere. :confused:

    Searching POI I found RMaps. It doesn't seem to recognize long/lat coordinates either.

    G
     
  6. hastings

    hastings Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try GPS Status? It has a function called Radar where you can enter in 'target' coordinates and show them on a map. It will bring it up in Google Maps and you should be able to use the Navigate function from there.
     
  7. rotor george

    rotor george Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Bingo! that's it! thanks hastings!!!

    Thanks everyone for your help it's much appreciated.
     
  8. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Duh! I use that app already and forgot that it had that function. :eek:
    Thanks for the reminder!!! :)
     
  9. yukonsjoy

    yukonsjoy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    First of i apologize for necroposting, but this program is exactly what i was searching these forums to find. My issue so far is that when I enter coordinates in the radar, it sets the long as e, and i need w. Can this be fixed somehow?
    Thanks
     
  10. vey

    vey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    7
    Try starting the longitude with a negative or positive sign.

    "Longitude is given as an angular measurement ranging from 0
     

Share This Page

Loading...