Kies Upgrade to 1.5.3.10103_100 will no longer connect to my Captivate!Support


Last Updated:

  1. varnk

    varnk New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last night I saw that there was an upgrade for Kies so I went ahead and downloaded it. After the download completed, I tried to connect my Samsung Captivate to Kies via USB. Kies now just sits there saying Connecting to device..., but will not connect. I have tried this several times and cannot get it to connect. Even tried restarting the phone and my computer.
     

    Advertisement
  2. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    242
    I'm in the same boat when I tested KIES at my parents' house... but we have our own Captivate-specific forum...
     
  3. hal666

    hal666 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me too! Any help on this would be much appreciated - Samsung Galaxy S
     
  4. canalrun

    canalrun Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me three :). I have a Samsung vibrant. I am in the USA. I am connecting to a Windows 7 64-bit computer via USB. The previous versions of kies that I have used for the past month have connected properly. I also use mini-Kies which will connect and show that I have the latest version of firmware on my phone about 60% or 70% of the time.

    Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
    Barry.
     
  5. jcollake

    jcollake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two updates ago (last week), the same occurred for me. Kies sees the device, but considers it unsupported (says such in latest update). Where is the device compatibility information stored? An override here would seem a quick fix, from an outsider's view.

    An alternate fix is to find the older version of Kies and install and use it. This would seem appropriate.

    If the older version doesn't work, then maybe a change with the phone has caused this.

    At present I am stuck with this problem. I hope to be able to update to AT&Ts Android 2.2 update, whenever they release it. As it is now, it seems I can not through this mechanism. The OTA mechanism has always been flaky, perhaps I can get it to work.
     
  6. vicj

    vicj Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me four! or is it five?
    I even uninstalled and reinstalled KIES on my Computer. No joy.
     
  7. jcollake

    jcollake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here. I am going to investigate one day, but since I just bought a brand new Samsung Tablet (great device) and it doesn't recognize either, I suspect one of these:

    1. This change in behavior (not manageable) is due to an update to KIES so that it doesn't recognize AT&T devices. My brand new Galaxy Tab not being manageable suggests this possibility... as crazy as it sounds/seems (why?!? maybe they have something proprietary they want to push instead?).
    2. Some registry setting is persisting causing KIES to incorrectly associate the PC as one appropriate for management of the device in question. This seems a bit far fetched, but so does #1. Can be quick tested by trying a different PC, which I'll do shortly.

    It makes little sense. I wish I had more time to investigate immediately.. Well, I am wasting time posting on forums, lol.
     
  8. timbuk2

    timbuk2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just downloaded and installed Kies Mini from the Samsung web site and was going to ask what it is for, but I guess I might as well uninstall it?
    Thanks
    Tim
     
  9. jcollake

    jcollake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not necessarily. A future update may restore support for at&t devices.. Maybe
     
  10. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    Welcome to the forum. I will move this to the Captivate forum instead.
     
  11. Akalon

    Akalon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not sure if it will help but one thing I have noticed is that while I have launcher pro running Kies won't connect to my phone. Once I reset the cache settings and choose the stock launcher I am able to connect without problem.

    This may not be the case with any of you as I don't have an AT&T captivate. Just figured I would shoot this out there in the event that it might be something that is overlooked.
     
  12. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    The Captivate FAQ is your friend. ;)

    Kies Mini - CapFAQ
     
  13. bill.g

    bill.g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    5
    Normally things work exactly like they say in the CapFAQ, but I followed the steps and it not work for me. kies noticed I was in debugging mode and said that mode was not supported. I even followed the faq that samsung has and will not connect.
     
  14. jcollake

    jcollake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    My experiences have also been the same with Kies and Kies Mini. I am not sure AT&T USA support in Kies Mini was retained in more recent updates. I believe the FAQ *could be* incorrect. I have not investigated further and may be entirely wrong.
     
  15. jcollake

    jcollake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    I verified that Kies Mini does NOT work with the Captivate, at least the latest version does not - it operates as the full Kies does. First, in contrast to the what the wiki currently says, it will say 'Can not connect in debugging mode' if you turn debugging mode on. Second, it will never identify your Captivate as supported in Kies (MTP) mode.

    I am updating the wiki. You guys can revert it, but I verified this, and unless you run your own tests I suggest it not be contradicted. If your results do differ from mine, then please do contradict me.

    UPDATE: Apparently I can't update the wiki (or didn't see a way) and am not spending all day on this. Do note this inaccuracy though. Note that I didn't try the older version, I let Kies update itself, so ... Maybe you could tell people not to update Kies mini, but what are the repercussions of that? I assume this change was made for a good reason.
     
  16. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Incorrect. I just installed the latest Kies Mini on an XP system that never had it before, and it worked fine.

    Double-check the following:

    - USB is set to "Kies" mode
    - You're running Touchwiz/twlauncher and not running LauncherPro, ADW or any other third-party launcher.
    - After letting Kies Mini update, close Kies Mini. Connect the Captivate to the PC via USB without Kies Mini running. Wait long enough for the "Portable device" icon to appear in the system tray (lower-right). Once it has, then launch Kies Mini.

    Yes, that should've been "Kies mode". Corrected.


    It's not an open wiki:
    CapFAQ:About - CapFAQ
     

Share This Page

Loading...