Lag adding shortcut - how long for others?Support


Last Updated:

  1. jkmasi

    jkmasi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    Press home screen to add a shortcut, choose applications. How long does it take to open the app list? On the first try, mine takes 8 seconds. If I repeat immediately, it's faster, but 8 seconds is ridiculous. I'm using LauncherPro Plus with 5 screens, but I've tried it with less, and only a couple of LP widgets. I'm considering a factory reset, but would like to know if this amount of lag is typical. Don't want to go through the hassle unless it's going to be worth it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    takes about 2 seconds at most for me. i am rooted running FABS apex blurless rom.
     
  3. jkmasi

    jkmasi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    Oh - I guess I should have asked for responses from non-rooted users, but thanks anyway!
     
  4. ChiefHopper

    ChiefHopper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    12
    Mine works fast with no real lag.

    I did do a cache reset and that, in general, sped the DX tremendously. You might give that a try.

    I am stock all the way.

    Did trash all of the screen apps that I don't use.

    Al
     
  5. dylo22

    dylo22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    119
    mine takes about 2-3 seconds. It took a lot longer with 2.1. I think the numbers of apps you have can affect load times. Since the OS needs to do a query for all your apps, the more apps you have the longer it will take.
     
  6. jkmasi

    jkmasi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    I don't have very many apps, and they are the same ones that I have on my Incredible where the response to any selection is instantaneous.

    I tried cache reset, and then a full factory reset (button method, no Google backup and restore. Fresh everything - didn't even use AppBrain.)

    Makes me think I need to return the X and go back to Inc.... except then I think about call quality. Hmmph.
     
  7. mahers

    mahers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    164
    Hmmm, I never timed it, but it does take mine a while. I have over 100 apps. I just tested it, and it took 13 seconds. I'd be happy with 8.
     
  8. buckguin

    buckguin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just tried mine and came up with 8 seconds. Not really a problem for me. Like someone said above, its probably just because it has to search your phone to find out the applications you run.
     
  9. dylo22

    dylo22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    119

    What's more important to you, call quality or the delay in adding homescreen widgets? I pick call quality. I suggest sticking with the X, assuming you don't have any other major problems.
     
  10. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    It takes 2-3 secs for the widget window to pop-up for me but after that I don't really have much of a problem.
     
  11. melbell

    melbell Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine took 4 seconds to open the first screen and then 12 to open the menu after I chose "Applications". And that was after I just added a shortcut a couple minutes ago. Mine doesn't seem to go any faster on subsequent adds than it does when I'm adding for the first time in days.

    I am on Android 2.1, Samsung Epic, completely stock. I know this is a droid x forum but I have been searching to find out why this takes so long to add shortcuts and I came across this thread. I really hope this gets fixed if we ever get 2.2.
     
  12. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    The system is doing an inventory of your apps when you do this. It really should be cached somewhere but it's not.

    If you want a faster way of doing it, instead of long pressing and adding a shortcut, call up your app drawer, longpress your app and drag it where you want the shortcut.
     

Share This Page

Loading...