laggy typing in Google Voice ?General


Last Updated:

  1. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    xtrrom, launcherpro, 245/710 main profile.

    Both the sense and multitouch keyboards lag to high hell in the google voice app. I even tried the leaked apk for the new version with widgets and its even worse.

    handcent, gmail, everything else is perfect. GV is my main texting app now so its a pretty big annoyance for me, especially when I'm texting while something else is running in the background.

    any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    so I've tried swiftkey and swype now...

    swiftkey, while being a nice keyboard, is even WORSE in GV, and swype is almost non functional in anything. I don't even believe the eris has enough power to run it.

    this is unbelieve, my phone is snappy in everything else, I'm almost tempted to start paying for texts again just so I can use handcent :(
     
  3. Tony N.

    Tony N. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    go back to the old versions. the new releases are bugged to hell and it lags for everyone not just you. i went back with 0.3.4 and it's great!
     
    thrawn86 likes this.
  4. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    a few others suggested the same in a different thread. it helps a ton, but the GV app as a whole is just nowhere near as snappy as it should be. typing is fine, but not 'great'
     
  5. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    The new Google Voice version works very will with Froyo and JITs.

    On your 2.1 ROM, it will never run fast.

    You could try with xtr ROMs and JITs on, but I don't anticipate much improvement.
     
  6. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    But be careful...any version newer than 0.3.4 will break the "Friends & Family" hack since the newer versions assign individual routing numbers to each of your contacts. If you're not doing the F&F hack for unlimited outgoing calls, then no worries.
     
  7. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    I don't understand this exactly.

    When you make an outgoing call, even with 0.34, it uses a random U.S. number to go through to call your contact.

    I can see this hack working for INCOMING calls though. Just give people your GV #, and you can talk for unlimited minutes.
     
  8. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    With 0.3.4, the routing or bridging number stays the same regardless of who you dial out to. So you can just add that number to your F&F and presto, you have unlimited outgoing. giving out your GV number won't give you minutes because it's not your GV # that shows up on caller ID, unless you choose that in GV settings, but then u would never know who was calling.
     

Share This Page

Loading...