landscape text entry in browser :/


Last Updated:

  1. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    Hi all.
    Is it me or is the text entry a bit rubbish when browsers are in
    Landscape mode :/

    Often when I use it the text box shoots to top of screen so that
    You can't actually see what you are typing :/

    Cheers
    Dan

    Ps. Dolphin hd is the same
     

    Advertisement
  2. garryknight

    garryknight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    22
    The text box will shoot to the screen if you're doing a Google search. Google Instant has recently been activated on Android phones - at least, those running 2.2. I haven 't yet found a way to turn this off; it seems to me that it must pull down a lot more data than the old search, which is going to impact everyone's data download plan. And my Virgin Mobile plan limited to 25 MB per day.
     
  3. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    Hi.
    Right. Not seen that yet. Sorry I meant say when updating a post on a forum
    Cheers
    Dan
     
  4. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    :/ just my phone then
     
  5. garryknight

    garryknight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    22
    I don't recall having seen it anywhere else, but you might want to wait to see if anyone else has. It's a weekend and people are off doing important things IRL.
     
  6. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    Right yes good point danger of being a shift worker :D
     
  7. SiHa

    SiHa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    81
    No, It's not just you. Flaming pain in the arse. Texting in landscape is impossible for just this reason. I use Dolphin HD as well, and haven't noticed it there, but I've just got into the habit of not using landscape for text entry probably.
     
  8. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    Yes I guess that is a solution. Text and web is much better in landscape
    Though imo

    Maybe a fix in 2.3 or gingerbread ;)
     
  9. SiHa

    SiHa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    81
    Let's hope so.

    BTW, I wasn't advocating non-lanscape use as a 'fix', just commenting that I seem to have unconciously stopped using it so much. I agree that Web is certainly better in landscape. Not sure about text though, I've got used to the portrait-sized keyboard, and keep hitting the wrong ones in landscape!
     
  10. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    :D I'm still the other way round. Notice I miss type
    A lot in portrait even in text :/
    Correction software is good ;)
     
  11. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    Is the poor text box focusing a limitation of android/ desire?
    Needs to be much better imo

    Will dolphin likely have a upgrade to improve it?

    Cheers
    Dan
     
  12. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    Contact he developers and let them know the issues you are having. If they don't know then they can't fix it.

    I am running on DeFroST so have the vanilla android browser and all seems ok in there. May not have noticed as used to just move the screen so I could see it when I used Dolphin. Will check it in a bit.
     
  13. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    ok will do - thanks
     
  14. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    email sent ;)

    also added that when pinch zooming it tends to move to wrong position on the page

    cheers
    dan
     
  15. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    Find double tap works better. It then centres it and starts at the top of the story.

    I use pinch zooming for finer zooming.
     
  16. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    Ok thanks will try that
     
  17. Rotor

    Rotor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    16
    Does exactly the same for me too. It's a right pain in the arse. :mad:

    Thankfully most of the forums I regularly use have Tapatalk intsalled so it only happens when I visit a couple of forums.
     
  18. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    How does that work? Is it on here?
     
  19. Rotor

    Rotor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    16
  20. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    Double tap is better for zooming I find.

    Also noticed that when using trackball in
    Landscape it often adds in random characters
    From that end of keyboard! Pretty sure I'm not
    Actually touching the keyboard though :/
     

Share This Page

Loading...