Latest Radio Upgrade with Fresh 2.1.1.


Last Updated:

  1. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hey ya'll --- just a quick note to let you know the radio upgrade that Flipz has posted on his site installs and functions fine with Fresh 2.1.1 -- and other ROMs as he notes in his details about the upgrade. I flashed it under RA 1.6.2.

    Geek For Me – Android CDMA Sprint Hero

    If you wish to upgrade, go to his site above -- download the zip and complete instructions are there. It is an easy flash but MAKE SURE TO FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!!! :rolleyes:

    Cheers -- Bob -- :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. redandblack1287

    redandblack1287 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just read this--2 minutes later, new radio =P

    Thanks for posting, will post back with results after a little while
     
  3. redandblack1287

    redandblack1287 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    3
    So I did this and initially my signal was worse than before in my room, however, it went back to normal after I updated my PRL.

    Make sure your PRL is up to date!
     
    aznprelude likes this.
  4. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    If you are up-to-date on your PRL, it should show version 60664. ;)

    Here are a couple of paragraphs for those that are unfamiliar with the significance of the PRL in your phone....

    PRL

    (Preferred Roaming List)
    The PRL is a list of information that resides in the memory of some kinds of digital phones. It lists the radio frequencies the phone can use in various geographic areas.

    The part of the list for each area is ordered by the bands the phone should try to use first. Therefore it's a kind of priority list for which towers the phone should use.

    The PRL helps determine which home-network towers to use, and also which towers belonging to other networks to use in roaming situations (areas where the home network has no coverage.) When roaming, the PRL may instruct the phone to use the network with the best roaming rate for the carrier, rather than the one with the strongest signal at the moment.

    Since a PRL tells the phone "where" to search for a signal, as carrier networks change over time, an updated PRL may be required for a phone to "see" all of the coverage that it should, both with the home network and for roaming.

    -------
     
    androidtp likes this.
  5. Fenga Papit

    Fenga Papit Banned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    38
    Where do I access the PRL? I looked through all of the settings but didn't see it. I really don't know what "PRL" stands for either!:eek:
     
  6. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hiya Papit ---

    (1) Read the prior post by me. What PRL stands for.

    (2) Settings --> About Phone --> System Updates --> Update PRL

    That should get you up to speed :D

    Cheers.
     
    Fenga Papit likes this.
  7. Fenga Papit

    Fenga Papit Banned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    38
    Lol...I didn't even look in system updates because I thought that was for updating Sprint's versions, so I didn't want to go there! The jokes on me.

    Thanks for spelling it out for me!
     
  8. TheGman124

    TheGman124 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey has anyone had the new radio update for fresh 2.1... give a error that the zip file was bad?
     
  9. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    Sometimes they get corrupted when downloading..... Try to re-download it and see what happens
     
  10. NotSure

    NotSure Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Upgraded to new radio - my download speed went from 1m to 2m
     
  11. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    is it ok to flash back the STOCK radio with fresh 2.1.2? i flashed the new radio but it seems as tho my connection consistently jumps up and down? also my PRL right now is 60663 but someone said it was suppose the be 60664...when i try to update the PRL some error box pops up "the application OMADM (process com.htc.android.omadm) has stopped unexpectedly. please try again." please help.
     
  12. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779


    Yes, it is ok to flash back to the stock radio. I would reboot, and try again to update your prl.
     
  13. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    How would you flash back to the stock radio? Is there a zip file out there for it?
     
  14. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    jwpilly likes this.
  15. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    i've rebooted but it still says the same thing?? is there another way to do it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...