Launch multimedia mode without dock?


Last Updated:

  1. SugarCoatedTape

    SugarCoatedTape Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all. I bought the car dock and it has served me well thus-far, but I don't really see a reason to plunk down the cash on the home dock. It's nice, but I don't want to buy it right now. However, I do very much like the display that appears when it is docked. I can't find a way to launch this without the dock itself, and I'm certain there has to be a way. What am I missing?
     

    Advertisement
  2. eL777

    eL777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. SugarCoatedTape

    SugarCoatedTape Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Really? That's a little bit annoying. There's no way to do it through astro or something?
     
  4. OctoMom

    OctoMom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried with a fridge magnet this morning and was able to get car and media dock modes to turn on, not a very elegant solution though.
     
  5. SugarCoatedTape

    SugarCoatedTape Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, not really. It's something, though. Anyone else have any ideas?
     
  6. DGalt

    DGalt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    8
    It's nice to know though. From what I've heard, the phone won't fit in the multimedia dock with a case on. The magnets do work through the case though (just tried it on my phone), so it's just a matter of making a holder that's big enough for the phone + case that lines the magnets up properly.
     
  7. OctoMom

    OctoMom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I can't find the docks anywhere and I have a case that I actually like so I'm going to try to build my own dock with a magnet. I have since found this morning that it only takes one magnet, not two like Engadget shows. You just flip it, North side turns on one mode and South the other.
     
  8. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    I played around and found that it is where the magnet is placed. If it is all the way over where the camera is it will be navigation. Move it closer to center and it will be multimedia.
     
  9. eraymond

    eraymond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can anyone tell what program is running after the magnet is triggered?

    I assume it's a program with perhaps obscure arguments.
    ▼
    ▲
     
  10. thericksonebay

    thericksonebay Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you download advanced task manager free after you use the magnet to activate go to task manager and you will see media station but then i tried to open it. it looked like it was about to open and then went back to task manger
     
  11. MotoDroidHelpandInfo

    MotoDroidHelpandInfo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...