Launcher Pro freezingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. chingon

    chingon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having problems with launcher pro. When i first started using it it was ok. Pretty smooth and a tiny bit laggy. But now it freezes and i have to do battery pulls a few times a day and its laggy as hell. My phone isn't rooted at all although i tried and failed and just left it at that. I've removed a lot of apps as well and that didn't help. When i remove launcher pro or switch to the stock launcher everything is fine and dandy.
    Anybody have this problem before or anyone that can help troubleshoot this with me?
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Play with LP advanced settings for memory? Remove widgets one by one?
     
  3. Halcyon

    Halcyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    38
    Make sure you remove all the widgets on touch wiz before loading LP. Having all those widgets on the stock launcher under LP can cause issues. Hope this helps.
     
  4. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    yup what these fine individuals said :D advanced settings in lp really alter performance...and if you have multiple launchers installed and widgets running on them you ll running memory so low you ll have fc's...i believe anytime you go under say 35mb ram free you ll start getting lp fc's
     
  5. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    I'd even take the widgets off LP one by one if the other things don't help. The setcpu one for instance made everything slow. And I don't have touchwiz running.
     
  6. chingon

    chingon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok i removed the widgets on touch wiz. Thats just deleting them from the home pages right?
    As for LP advanced settings. What exactly should I be playing with?
    thanks
     
  7. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Try setting a higher memory usage

    If you root your phone you can move lp to the system app folder and nuke tw altogether, that may help it perform better
     
  8. Halcyon

    Halcyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yes just delete them off your homepages. Also under advanced settings on LP try increasing the Minimum Scrolling speed (I have mine set at 100) as well as the Drawer opening speed (im at 7 out of 10). This gives the phone a super fluid scrolling and app drawer opening speed. Also set your Screen Previews opening speed to 10. LP will seem smooth as silk with these settings. Also check to see if you have High quality scrolling enabled. This could give you a performance hit. I leave mine unchecked. Play around and find the ones that suit you best.
     
  9. chingon

    chingon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well I've tried everything as suggested and my phone is still behaving the same way. I also retired reinstal LP & it worked smoothly for about a day and now its back to its freezing behavior. Is there anything else I can try?
     
  10. chingon

    chingon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok I think i figured out whats was causing problems with launcher pro. It was the app 'myremniders.' I was running touchwiz because LP was pissing me off and everything was fine. Battery lasted a heck of a lot longer as well and my GPS locked on a lot quicker. Then I added myreminders to TW and the performance went to hell. Deleted the widget and everything was back to normal. Then i deleted the widget from LP and it started working fine again. This kind of sucks because i really like the myreminders widget.
     
  11. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Yep doesn't surprise me
     

Share This Page

Loading...