Launcher Pro Plus Problem :(Support


Last Updated:

  1. Mskgreenel

    Mskgreenel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    84
    I've been using Launcher Pro Plus for maybe a month. I was getting bored with my phone and the change made me :).

    I was in denial for weeks... For some reason it drained my battery so much. I'm so over Sense...

    Running Launcher Pro Plus I was getting 5 hrs max battery life... If I went out for the night I could easily go through a fresh battery in 3 hrs. Taking a few pics, tweeting...:mad:

    I switched back to Sense and my battery life is back to 8-9 hrs........

    WHY WHY WHY!!!!

    Is it b/c of the Launcher Widgets?? I tried changing the settings on widgets to sync/refresh less frequently but that didn't help. I have 4 batteries in total (long story) but it got to time consuming remembering to charge backups and always swapping batteries.

    Also Launcher was ALWAYS FORCE CLOSING..So pretty much after doing anything I'd have to wait for it to do a mini-re-boot. That's honestly why I had to switch back.

    I haven't read much about other people having the same problem so I feel like it's me.. :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. Skittlez

    Skittlez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm using it and im at 14 hours, with a little less than 60%
     
  3. Mskgreenel

    Mskgreenel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    84
    That's why I'm blaming myself.. :(
     
  4. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    I have been using Launcher Pro Plus since it was released (and the free one before that) and I can easily get though an entire day with moderate use. 2 days if I don't do much but a couple calls/texts. I have only ever had it FC on me twice, and both were before the Plus version.

    In all fairness, I don't actually use any of the LP Widgets. But I never used the Sense one's, either. But widgets can drain your battery if they are syncing a lot.

    Another possibility is if you have kept your Sense UI all set up, including widgets, then you technically have double the amount of widgets up and running... and syncing. If you are going to use any home replacement app, you should probably clear out your Sense homescreens.

    My only other suggestion is to simply uninstall LP and reinstall it. Something may have gotten bugged in the install. And you may want to check out the LP Forums and see if you can get any help from there, too. The Dev is very active on the board.
     
  5. Mskgreenel

    Mskgreenel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    84
    Thanks Terabethia, I made LPP the default and also cleared/removed all my Sense UI widgets off my homescreens just in case.
    Something must of went wrong along the way b/c the problem got worse slowly over time...
     
  6. billybob275

    billybob275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also check to see how often all of your accounts are syncing, especially the ones linked to Sense. Those can be a huge battery drain and will still run in the background, even if you use LP.
     
  7. Mskgreenel

    Mskgreenel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    84
    I disabled Twitter for Sense, FB for Sense... I don't know why I'm so frustrated.
     
  8. mrootes

    mrootes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    24
    I was getting ready to post the exact same problem as the OP! I setup LPP 5 days ago and my phone will not make it 6 hours just sitting idle!! My Sense setup would make it 9 or more hours.

    I admit, I have a lot of widgets, and I also use K9 email to check email every minute. I never cleared the widgets/email for Sense even though LPP is now my default - I didn;t know that Sense still runs its widgets when not the default...

    I will clear the Sense widgets and give my feedback as well.
     
  9. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    I had similar issues when I first got it. My thought was always that Sense was never actually stopped and therefore I was running 2 launchers at the same time.

    My solution was stick to Sense (which I hate compared to LP+) or root & flash a Senseless ROM (which I did).

    CM 6.1 comes installed with ADW (no other launcher, not even stock android). So I installed LP+ and removed that. Runs perfectly with good battery.
     
  10. Mskgreenel

    Mskgreenel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    84
    I've been giving this phone major side eye.... Now that I'm back to Sense I'm getting this little gem of a message pretty much after I do anything..."android.process.acore has stopped unexpectly" with an option to wait or FC.. *pulls out hair*
     
  11. bassett

    bassett Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have both battery issues and lag issues with Launcher Pro. I started by setting Sense to "clean slate" and turning off all syncs. I then activated LP, and activated just a few syncs (gmail and every 12 hours weather...no FB, twitter, etc.). My battery life is at least 20% less with LP running. And there's a clear lag as I navigate screens, open apps, etc.. When I return to just Sense, with same sync settings, battery improves and lag disappears. I'm at a loss as to why this is happening.
     
  12. mhtrang

    mhtrang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    12
    I just got LauncherPro+ over the weekend, and my battery life has stayed relatively the same as when I was using Sense. The only widgets I have that are LP's are people and calendar. I have 7 home screens (with elastic scrolling), 3d app drawer, and 3 docks (with loop scrolling). I checked on display memory usage and I'm currently at 15,968kb. Hope some of this might be of use.
     

Share This Page

Loading...