1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Launcher Pro


Last Updated:

  1. confused one

    confused one Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not able to open this app after it has been D/L'ed to my phone. Anyone have the answer to this problem? I am running Android 2.1 on a Droid with no other launcher/home app on the phone.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Shnuddy

    Shnuddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    14
    After you download you have to install it. Use a file explorer to find the file (Astro is good). It will probably be in a sub folder called download. Open it, the select Open App Manager, then select Install.

    Before you do any of that though, you need to go to Settings>Applications>/Unknown Sources and check the box (if you haven't already done that)
     
  3. the337

    the337 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    you have to hit the home button and then you are given a choice to select launcher pro
     
  4. the337

    the337 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    you shouldn't have to check unknown sources if you downloaded it from the market
     
  5. Shnuddy

    Shnuddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm sorry, I misunderstood. If you downloaded from the market ignore my post :eek:
     
  6. confused one

    confused one Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I had to use Astro after D/L'ing and unistalling about 5 or 6 times. It said it was missing an .exe file or something. I didn't pay much attention to the message.

    I got it off the market and the website several times each.
     
  7. flammenwurfer

    flammenwurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    4
    If it is installed from the market, all you need to do is...

    Goto Menu>Settings>Applications>Manage Applications

    Then scroll down to HTC Sense, select it, then press Clear Defaults.

    Then press your Home button and you will be given a choice of which launcher to use.
     
  8. mattdouglaschambers

    mattdouglaschambers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    47
    Is there some way to get the sms or gmail on the dock to show counters?
     
  9. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    ^^^Obstacle #1 to solving the problem.

    If LauncherPro is installed properly (it might not be if you're getting an error), pressing the Home button should give you the option to use (the standard) Home or LauncherPro. If it doesn't, go to Manage Applications, press Menu / Filter / All, scroll down to Home and select it, then press Clear Defaults. This should work if you're using the Droid with OS 2.1 (as you say in your original message). If you're currently using some other Home replacement, you'll need to Clear Defaults for that app instead of Home.
     
  10. Vulcan

    Vulcan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    11
    i recommended adw launcher it is easier faster and uses less battery life ...well in my case (Htc Evo 4g)
     
  11. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Nope, the dock only supports shortcuts and not widgets.
     
  12. woodbutcher

    woodbutcher Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried Helix Launcher and Launcher Pro to replace the 3-screen Home screen with five screens, and Settled on Launcher Pro. Is there anything I should know to keep me out of trouble?
     
  13. umikun

    umikun Banned

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    23
    I found this home replacement last night and it is FAST. It is honestly faster than any other home replacement I've ever tried and faster than any of the stock ones we've used.
    The feature list isn't huge but the speed is amazing! The app drawer is 2D but the apps "fly in" like the 3D one.
    Here is the market description:
     
  14. HomelessDepot

    HomelessDepot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    15
    LP's one of the most respected (and popular) Sense replacements over at the Incredible forum. The updates come fast and furious, and one of the more recent features is an optional 'cube' effect for the app drawer, giving it a 3D feel. Federico deserves a lot of credit for his hard work.

    -HD
     
  15. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    The best part about launcher pro is that you can set 5 rows of full size icons in advanced settings. No other home replacement does that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...