1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

LauncherPro and/or Beautiful Widgets?


Last Updated:

  1. amheck

    amheck Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey guys, just got my first Android phone today - a Captivate. I've been doing some reading and think I might want to try out Launcher Pro (the paid version?) and Beautiful Widgets. I just want to make sure there wasn't a whole lot of overlap in these two products.

    Do they work well together? Do most of you run both of them at the same time? This could be a pretty silly question as I totally not even sure what exactly both of these apps do. Just wanted to make sure there wasn't any problems running both of them.

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Krimian

    Krimian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes i use them both with my DHD right now ^^ Can make some very gorgeous setups with the 2 :)
     
  3. amheck

    amheck Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Great, thanks for the confirmation. Going to download them both now.
     
  4. Boldt

    Boldt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    27
    I have LP+ and BW running, never an issue though I have read where others have had them - none on this end. I cant recommend LP+ enough. Its good stuff.

    I think its worth every penny and Fede deserves the support if you enjoy the free version. The future builds are surely going to increase the price.. He seems to be re-writing it from scratch :)

    BW is nice and I like the small weather widget. Plenty to choose from in terms of skins. Also don't forget, if you buy them and do not like them for any reason you have 24 hours to refund them....

    GL
     
  5. k0smo86

    k0smo86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    29
    question about LPP, will purchasing pro plus be a one time purchase? Or will we have to rebuy when he releases another build?
     
  6. sharkerbaby

    sharkerbaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    15
    So far I have had no apps require me to repurchase an upgrade, including LPP. Whats more, the dev of LPP is currently rewriting the app from the ground up and has already stated it will be a free upgrade.
     
  7. Boldt

    Boldt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    27
    Just a one time purchase. Upgrades/improvements are included :)
     
  8. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    I use LPP and BW, runs great and no lag or anything. Only time I get lag is when I place Android Agenda Widgets which makes scrolling jerky and desktop preview freeze (in any launcher), as soon as I delete it the lag disappears.
     
  9. airjordan223

    airjordan223 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    34
    So what do you get out of the paid version of LP that you dont get from the free one?

    I know you get a few widgets and the ability to resize them, but there has to be something else right?
     
  10. Boldt

    Boldt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    27
    Dock popups (missed calls, sms, bookmarks) along with what you have already said above. Also do not forget the warm fuzzy feeling of supporting the dev. :)

    I look forward to anything Fede releases in the future
     
  11. vampash1987

    vampash1987 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be a stupid stupid question, but how do I get LauncherPro or LauncherPro Plus? I mean I found LP in the market. I just am never able to get it working! Thanks for your help in advance! :)
     
  12. airjordan223

    airjordan223 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    34
    You need to download homeswitcher so you can go back and forth to sense and LP.

    Once you have that downloaded, open it up and switch to LP. Then it also uses the home key to switch, back and forth or you can keep it so the home key is just for LP or sense.
     
  13. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    the 'plus' version is bought from within the free version, not separately on the market.
     

Share This Page

Loading...