LauncherPro boot up problemSupport


Last Updated:

  1. diS

    diS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hi guys

    I've got a question or problem. It depends on how you look at it.

    If I've got LauncherPro as my standard launcher I have a problem when I boot my phone up.
    If I do not put in my PIN in time it further boots up without the SIM loaded.
    That means that I can't text, use data (except for WiFi), call.

    I then have to reboot the phone again and put in my PIN.
    That's quite annoying when you're booting the phone up, which takes a LONG time. If I lay down my phone for a few seconds when it's booting up and I pick it back up, I can reboot it because I didn't put my PIN in time...

    It's really annoying.

    Any solution for this?

    Thanks in advance
    diS
     

    Advertisement
  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Instead of rebooting just put it into flight mode and back to normal and it will ask for the pin.
    Alternatively you can disable the pin or maybe search for an app that will put it in for you, even though I have no idea if such apps exist.
     
    diS likes this.
  3. diS

    diS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    69
    Didn't know that. I was always rebooting my phone...
    Thanks Szadzik!
     
  4. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Happy to be of service.

    You can always use the Thanks button to give a quick thanks :)
     
  5. diS

    diS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    69
    I came back on to do so ;)
    Glad you mentioned it though!
     
  6. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    [​IMG]
     
  7. diS

    diS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    69
    Heads up: That flight mode doesn't ask me for my PIN code.
    I can switch to flight mode and then switch back but it doesn't initialize my SIM card.

    Which results in me rebooting my phone...

    Is this a setting I should check or something?
     
  8. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    I do not have a PIN on my SIM so it is hard to check.

    When you put it into flight mode and then back up to normal mode, do you go out of the Settings menu immediately?

    What I would advise you to try is install a widget that would put the phone into flight mode and then back to normal, so that you do NOTHING after switching it back to normal, otherwise, the PIN prompt will go away.


    So I found a new SIM card with a PIN.

    I entered it and booted up and the screen stayed locked at the PIN screen until I entered it.

    I put it into flight mode and back to normal and the PIN screen appeared again.

    So either you are doing something wrong, there is an app that interferes with this or your phone is simply set up this way.
     
  9. diS

    diS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    69
    Well when I press the power button I get to choose to shut down the phone, set it to silence / vibrate and put it into flight mode.

    When I use the flight mode it disables network etc.
    When I go back to normal the plane icon in the notificationbar dissapears but the phone doesn't do anything else after that.

    It shows that my SIM is not active and there is no screen to put in my PIN code.

    A widget doesn't change anything. It puts it into flight mode (with the plane icon in the notification bar) and when I close flight mode I've got no signal at all and there's the icon of my SIM with an exclamation mark...

    I've tried searching for something in my settings but nothing seems to relate with this...

    I'm quite irritated by this...
     
  10. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Nothing I can do as you have a Desire and I have a Milestone.

    Maybe I should move the thread to the Desire forum so that someone else with the same phone can see what they have?
     
  11. diS

    diS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    69
    Yeah, that might help me a bit more :)
    Thanks for the help though!

    I'm also going to put this on the LauncherPro forum.
    Perhaps they'll know what to do :)
     
  12. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    LP has nothing to do with it IMO.

    Thread moved to Desire forum.
     
  13. choccy

    choccy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    8
    I can no longer backup my Launcherpro settings and its really annoying.

    Not sure if having rooted phone is problem as it keeps saying cannot locate sim? :-(
     
  14. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    Sounds like a defective SIM, I had one of those in my Moto and just exchanged it for a new one at my carrier's store. LP has nothing to do with this.
     
    diS likes this.
  15. diS

    diS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    69
    Nothing to do with my SIM. If I put in my PIN (in time) it boots up and I can call/text/data/... everything. It's just that it doesn't wait till I put in my PIN to further boot up...
     
  16. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,797
    Likes Received:
    10,721
    I also have a Desire, SIM PIN and use LP, but can't replicate this. If I boot my phone and don't enter the PIN eventually the screen turns off, but when I wake it and unlock the PIN entry panel is still waiting for me. And as an earlier reply said, turning airplane mode on then off should prompt for the PIN again.

    So all I can suggest is some investigation. Firstly, what ROM are you using (stock or custom, network customised or not)? Try switching launcher and see if the problem persists - if it does, then LP is absolved. If not, then since LP doesn't do this generally, it must be an interference with some other piece of software on your phone (also true if the problem is still there when using another launcher). If the problem only started at some definate time I'd ask what the last few things you installed before that were, and try uninstalling temporarily to see whether it makes a difference. If it's software then it must be something that starts when the phone boots (though that leaves a lot of possibilities!).

    I guess you could also try removing the SIM, cleaning contacts and replacing - you never know. If you have another SIM you could also see whether the problem depends on which SIM is used.

    No answers I'm afraid - this is an odd one. Not prompting for a PIN after airplane mode seems particularly strange - this sounds like something is started during the boot which cancels or blocks the prompt, and since whatever it is is already running when you enter airplane mode you then don't get the prompt again.
     
    diS likes this.
  17. diS

    diS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hadron I really appreciate your help and time you've put into this.

    After I read your post I thought that it had to do something with the lockscreen.
    So I did some research on my phone and I found what was caussing my phone to boot up further and not asking my PIN when I exit flight mode.

    It was the app NoLock. The app prevents the phone from using the lock screen which I found very usefull. Although now I'll have to look for something else!

    Again, thank you all for your help Szadzik, Sookster54 and you Hadron!
     
    Nrg50 likes this.
  18. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,797
    Likes Received:
    10,721
    Thanks - glad you found the answer :)
     
  19. robogo

    robogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    16
    Contact the app developer, I believe they will modify the program so it can work properly :)
     
  20. Burdus33

    Burdus33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem when I rooted my Desire Choccy. The only thing you can do is uninstall and reinstall LP, that worked for me! :eek:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...