LauncherPro


Last Updated:

  1. jmims

    jmims Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    15
    Does anybody have random apps, or one in particular, pop up when you swipe unlock your phone? Occassionally my browser is there to greet me after I unlock and I know it wasn't there when I locked it. I do have the browser shortcut on the far right, so it may be just how I'm swiping, but I don't know for sure. I wanted to email the dev about it, but I figured it would be best to get some feedback/opinions here first before I assume it's the launcher.
     

    Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Hmm, will pay more attention to see if it is happening to me or not.
     
  3. Cbass

    Cbass New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps you could move your browser app to another location/screen and thus rule this accidental touching of the browser icon out?
     
  4. jmims

    jmims Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    15
    I suppose I could that, and see if the next shortcut to whatever I put there pops up after unlocking.
     
  5. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    the problem I have been having is while listening to Pandora, Slacker, or watching TV. Once I receive a phone call I get the force close/report for LauncherPro. Hopefully they correct this issue soon. Seems like a memory issue
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Never happened to me, and I use Pandora daily on my commute to work, and I have a guy that gets rides from me daily, so I call him to let him know I am downstairs, and at leaat one a week he misses my call then calls me back to verify I am downstairs.

    LP has not once FCd on me.

    Could it be some certain setting you have or another app that is actually playing havoc with your system?
     
  7. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    It only started doing this after the last update...I do have pandora running and the phone doesnt sleep

    I only downloaded one other app....audio manager...but I took that off to try to narrow it down
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Not here, but I'll keep watching for it.
     
  9. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    I will do some more testing to try to narrow it down...
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Kewl. Looking forward to it. I'll try to remember as well - when I wake up, that is...
     
  11. JMF_Droid

    JMF_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have that issue as well. I will unlock my phone & the browser will be on Google search. When I hit the back key though, it goes into the phone app w/ a hang up/end call button on the screen, but touching it does nothing. So every time I hit back, it switches back & forth between the browser and the call/phone app or whatever! It's annoying at times. I have to hit home to get rid of it all!
     
  12. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4,218
    Likes Received:
    3,489
    The only time I get that series of events is after an update but when I hit home I get to choose what to use as the default.
    What I am noticing is that sometimes when I back out of an app it takes me to my home screen, even though that is not the screen I was on. I've also been getting a lot of FC's since the last update...never had them before that. I hope it gets updated soon.
     
  13. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    I've never had this issue, and I've been using LauncherPro since the day it was released. I noticed on the LauncherPro website that many are also experiencing other strange bugs and FCs. I can count on one hand the number of times LauncherPro has FCed on me. And it's not as if there isn't a lot going on with my phone. I use 7 screens and have lots of widgets as well as the 3D app drawer. I have memory usage set to "light" and I have "keep launcher in memory" checked on both the launcher preferences as well as in spare parts (I'm rooted).
     
  14. obutto

    obutto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    14
    YES YES THIS IS EXACTLY ME. I'm also experiencing random Force closes when I go into App drawer.

    But the browser opening up has fixed itself apparently. But I still have random force closes. Been using since launch as well, but started up recently.
     
  15. Soultics

    Soultics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    12
    Same as above, random force closes.
     
  16. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    I went into my preferences and had medium set up for memory usage, and I did not have keep launcher in memory checked. I changed those and am excited to see if this fixed the issue. Like I said before the only issue I had was when I received a call while playing slacker, pandora, or navi...
     
  17. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    Hope it works out for you. You might also already know this, but there has been another update for LauncherPro. The dev created a new addition just for us Droid users (and for those using the Milestone overseas). In the general settings there's an option to choose a "Droid hack" that's designed to give us better performance and more stability. I have it checked and I immediately noticed even more speed when swiping between screens and when opening apps. You might want to check this option as well. This dev is absolutely amazing!
     
  18. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    73
    You guys should read the release notes from the developer. He wants to remind users that any home replacement skin will run into Android's memory limitations for apps. It's something 24mb or something like that. The more features that you run on home replacement (additionally, the more features that he adds) the more likely that it'll hit up against that memory limit that Android has imposed. In that way, you'll get force closes. Maybe some of you are like me and like to run every feature available under the sun from scrollable widgets, scrollable dock, max res. switching, etc. But the reality, you can't before Android thinks it needs to kill it, i.e. force close. Run the features you think you need. Until these home replacements are more integrated into the OS (i.e. Sense and Motoblur), you'll run into these FC issues. Either way, LP has better memory management than any HR that I've used.
     
  19. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    I seem to have a lot of lag when unlocking. The slider kind of hangs. I am not sure if this is launcher pro or the BB rom I am using.

    Edit: Switched memory configurations in LP and it is fixed.
     
  20. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    I did the same thing. I switched memory configurations and I have not had any problems since then. Also as a previous posted stated, I was aware of the memory usage and the effects that it would have on the system. The issues I had just recently started happening since the update last week.
     
  21. matthew.k.taylor

    matthew.k.taylor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine fc's on me every 2 days or so, sometimes multiple times a day. switched to keep in memory and light usage to see if this alleviates the problem
     

Share This Page

Loading...