Layar on the Captivate


Last Updated:

  1. ccayetano

    ccayetano Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone used Layar on the Captivate? I was wondering if anyone has experienced any problems with the app, especially considering the GPS problems of the Captivate.
     

    Advertisement
  2. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    it works fine. not as precise and quick as I would have wanted, but it works. Do not use it though to showcase the phone to friends, as the GPS MAY place you way off in the augmented reality space, and you will embarrass only yourself.
     
    Gipson likes this.
  3. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    I have it installed but haven't bothered trying to use it until the GPS issue is resolved.
     
  4. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    ^^^ good thinking. I was once trying to hype the phone to a friend. We were in a car, in an area we both know quite well. I fired up Layer and switched to the augmented reality camera view. I was like "see you pan the phone around, you see what businesses are in certain locations, right on the live view". Then we both notice that Layer is showing businesses from freak knows where, nothing I know in the area, nothing I know in 5 mile radius from where we were. I had to try to subdue redness in my face, and quickly changed the topic. Went on to show the Nook app. :)
    That was the same friend I once tried to help find some local NYC business - we knew it was somewhere in the area, so I used google maps to search locally, and it found a business with similar name near Paris.
     
  5. Aspenator

    Aspenator Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0

    How do you pull up the augmented reality camera? I couldn't find it anywhere.
     
  6. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    From the main view, tap the "play" arrow next to any business in the list, and it will switch to reality view.
     

Share This Page

Loading...