• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps learning intern

hi everyone, i am a university student currently working as an intern at a startup company to develop some android apps. i have a backgroud in c++ and a little bit of ruby, and java is sort of unknown to me. i would like to ask that how should i start developing apps, should i spend some time in learning java first ( if yes then what all shoould i know before i get into developing my app, also should i look into J2ME or J2EE), or should i right away start playing with android?

Are you good with object-oriented C++ (such as using the OpenGL libraries or similar)? Java's syntax is near identical to that of C++. The main difference is the fact that java is 100% object oriented. It completely revolves around classes and data members/methods.

Although you might be able to pick up on java very quickly, I HIGHLY recommend buying and reading this book: Amazon.com: Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours (5th Edition)…

Although I RARELY recommend a Sam's Teach Yourself book, this one is very good. It covers all of the basics in enough detail for you to grasp it easily but still have a good understanding of it and it also covers some of the more advanced topics as well.

After you are comfortable with java (or just plain ready to start working with the Adnroid SDK), you have two options:
1) hit up the online documentation and start playing around
or
2) buy and read a book (or two) on the android SDK. Although it utilizes the java platform, there are things that are quite different when working with android software than if you were working with a J2SE PC app.

Whichver option you choose is up to you. I went the latter route and it sharpened the learning curve in the long run.

If you do choose the latter route, I HIGHLY recommend the following book:

Amazon.com: Android Wireless Application Development (9780321627094): Shane Conder, Lauren Darcey: Books