lets get multitouch on droid

Last Updated:

1. t83

t83 New Member This Topic's Starter

Milestone has been launched. I'm not a programmer but I'm sure there's a. Way to get multi touch web browsing and maps on the droid ala milestone.

Advertisement
  2. craighwk

craighwk Well-Known Member

Agreed. At least for the keyboard.

3. eMximeR

eMximeR Member

There's multi-touch on apps such as Picsay and in Hi AIM. The compatibility is there, it's just a matter of getting past the Apple patent. I'm sure that this is something that will eventually come about

4. bhm229

bhm229 Member

Android 2.0 fully supports it, Apple just has a patent on the pinch zoom thing. Google would rather not get sued and decided not to implement it themselves and leave it to the public.

So the theory goes

5. craighwk

craighwk Well-Known Member

Eh, I don't believe that one. Palm Pre has it and Apple hasn't gone after them. I think it's some secret handshake between Apple and Google. :D

6. taz55

taz55 Well-Known Member

LOL even the Zune HD from microsoft has it

7. Darth_Penguin

Darth_Penguin Well-Known Member

Apple is breaching about 10 of palms patents so I dont think there is much incentive for apple to go after palm (or so the internet claims). This is why the pre has it.

8. Moose

Moose Active Member

Yeah it all has to do with leverage in the patent game, there are overlapping patents and such. Yes I have heard Palm claims to have the rights via its own patents, and that Apple may be pushing the limits on some of Palms patents, so they complain but won't sue. Google doesn't have the collection of patents that Palm does when it comes to handhelds, why Motorola didn't just go and license the tech from Palm I am not sure.

Apple is the worst at Patent violation and want to enforce their own! Heck they don't want to pay licensing on the GSM patents! Thats a head shaker right there.

9. t83