LG GT540/Optimus 2.1 update network connection problemSupport

1. mrmarmiite

mrmarmiite Member

Hello everyone.
    Im new to the android os, and yesterday i updated my gt540 to android 2.1 from 1.6.
    Since then, it takes alot longer to send sms messages and an extremley long time to receive them, sometimes hours.
    Im on o2 PAYG simplicity
    i'd be very grateful if anybody could help me with this situation :mad::confused::(:(

Advertisement
  2. Martimus

Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

Welcome to the Android Forums!

Sometimes after a major OS upgrade it's necessary to clear the phones cache or do a factory reset...
  3. mrmarmiite

mrmarmiite Member

Hey, thanks for your reply. Unfortunately, this made no difference. I used the official lg updater so if i took it back to the Carphone Warehouse (bearing in mind it was only a week ago i got the phone) that my warranty will still be in place?
    Thanks
  4. Martimus

If doing a clear cache or reset from the recovery menu did no good than it's possible that you've either got a hardware issue with the phone causing the slow-down or maybe a problem with the OS image itself. Under that circumstance a trip to the wireless store where you got the phone would likely be appropriate...
  5. mrmarmiite

mrmarmiite Member

can i just clarify that by clearing the cache you mean clearing the browsers cache?
    or am i just missing something here. sorry again, newbie to android ;P
    thanks!
  6. Martimus

Most Android phones have what is known as a recovery menu. Recovery is accessed by simultaneously holding down the Power, home, and volume up buttons from a powered off state. In this menu you can load updates, new ROM images, and clear the cache partition on the phone. In what I described above I was referring to clearing the cache partition from this menu.

For some odd reason Recovery mode does not always exist on Android phones... so this might not work for you.
  7. mrmarmiite

mrmarmiite Member