1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

LG Lucid 2 -VS870 - on GSM?General


Last Updated:

  1. meskalin

    meskalin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    On gsmarena says that Lucid 2 is global phone and can be used on gsm network. Has anyone used it on gsm? To be more specific my concern is: -Is Lucid 2 intenationally unlocked?
     

    Advertisement
  2. elnaog

    elnaog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes is gsm phone but is blocked and when you try a diffent sim card no signal no nothing
     
    meskalin likes this.
  3. meskalin

    meskalin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do you know if it's blocked only in US or everywhere because I want to use it in Europe.
     
  4. elnaog

    elnaog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    bro im in dominican republic, is more a software issue cause no way that you can enter a code or change the network or toogle between gsm and cdma if u try an app to change setting pop up a window that said (this app doesnt work on this device) or something like that we need a gsm rom for this phone
     
  5. meskalin

    meskalin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    hmm...too bad looks like a nice phone for the money
    did you try to dial *#*#4636#*#* on HTC and Motorola opens up a menu and if you choose phone information you can change the mode GSM, CDMA, LTE,... anyway thanks a lot
     
  6. elnaog

    elnaog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    already try that the only one that works is ##7764726870 this but nothing there hope that we can find a gsm rom for this phone
     
  7. felixjohan

    felixjohan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    18
    Dominican Republic? Qloq Papa dime a ver cx soy de aqui tambien
     
  8. elnaog

    elnaog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    tranki bro aki punchando celulares jejejeje:D
     
  9. felixjohan

    felixjohan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    18
    El tel
     
    eze1888 likes this.
  10. GnatGoSplat

    GnatGoSplat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    18
    I think GSMArena is wrong. I don't think this is a world phone.
    Phonearena and Phonescoop both say this is a CDMA-only phone.
     
  11. felixjohan

    felixjohan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    18
    The lucid 2 is global.
    To use gsm you need to edit the build.prop
     
  12. GnatGoSplat

    GnatGoSplat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    18
    What do you need to change in build.prop?
     
  13. elnaog

    elnaog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    bro tell me how pllis (yo trate pero ningun cambio comparte)
     
  14. dduck

    dduck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Changing "ro.build.target_operator=VZW" in build.prop unlocks network toggle. Change VZW to anything. Then use any phone info app to toggle. I tried but cannot toggle to GSM. Instantly goes back to CDMA

    Edit: i have lg spectrum 2 vs930 which has exact same hardware as lucid 2. VS930 has GSM.
    If someone can guide me how to backup and flash baseband from VS930 to VS870 maybe we can make GSM work.

    Edit: Changing "ro.build.target_operator=VZW" also unlocks *228
     
    elnaog likes this.
  15. calitox

    calitox New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    pudiste poner a trabajar el LG Lucid 2 para GSM??? soy de aqui tambien
     
  16. elnaog

    elnaog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    no mijo todav
     
  17. gurid12

    gurid12 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    so, if i unlock this phone, it can works in europe on gsm networks?
     
  18. GnatGoSplat

    GnatGoSplat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    18
    Doubtful. I think this is a CDMA-only phone. There are people claiming it has GSM capability, but so far no one has offered any proof of that.
     
    gurid12 likes this.
  19. felixjohan

    felixjohan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    18
  20. elnaog

    elnaog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    te agregue a whatsapp aunke vendi el celular ya pero fue a un pana
    me gustaria saber como lo hiciste
     
  21. chris19822

    chris19822 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found the basebands on the spectrum 2 so can I flash them or no
     
  22. chris19822

    chris19822 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found a link to basebands
     
  23. eze1888

    eze1888 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alguien pudo hacerlo trabajar para gsm? soy de M
     
  24. goooo1

    goooo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  25. georgeus

    georgeus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.

    First, all thanks to @GameTheory, your job help very much to test this phone.

    Mi opinion is, this phone is hard locked, I can try to Sim Unlock this with other LG model ROM enter the code 2945#*870# an this send the message "this phone is permanently locked and cannot be unlocked" in all options.

    1. Test, Zip recovery ROMs tested and Ported:

    Root the phone and install Recovery (Loki patch).

    Xperion_l1v_11-2-2014.zip is base ROM

    Extract all system files to:

    - VS870 (Edit build.prop and test kernel "Unsecured_kernel_l1v_9-25-14.zip")
    - LG875
    - V930
    - P870
    - Sphinx_Escape_V1 (Works 2945#*870# code, only acept LTE/CDMA and CDMA to select in settings)

    Then inject system folder in base ROM (Xperion), and install from recovery.


    2. Test, KDZ files tested to test own kernels:

    - LG p780 works, touch fail
    - LS930 No works, freeze the updater
    - MS770 No works, Display problems


    To return to original rom, Run the updater with the VS870 kdz file.

    Final observations:

    I do not know how to inject apks and files in the framework folder without generating an error or boot loops.

    I try to mix the system folder of various roms, but I had problems with locks and system apps crash.

    Greetings from Colombia and excuse my translation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...