LG optimus one does not support swype text?


Last Updated:

  1. jeyaprasanna

    jeyaprasanna New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have recently bought an LG Optimus one and things are going good.. But i dont see the swype text option while typing .

    Is it a feature provided by android OS itself or by the mobile makers? if this is not supported by LG then can i download it from market?

    Also my battery is draining out quickly because of the lot of process running in the back ground. How can i improve my battery life? Even the advanced task killer and the other stuffs does nt seems to be more effective in managing the applications. Can anyone help regarding this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Prateek Gupta

    Prateek Gupta Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    As far as taskillers are concerned i would like you to go through this article - Android Task Killers Explained: What They Do and Why You Shouldn't Use Them
    In short, taskillers sometimes kill essential CPU cycles or android applications required by the system to work properly. You can do 2 things-go to settings->applications->manage applicatons->running->select the application which is running unnecessarily->force stop. This is the easiest method to prevent an app from using battery and CPU(and better than taskillers). You can also go to settings->about phone->battery use->select an app->force stop.
    Note: Rooting is not safe as it can 'brick' your phone.(No recovery,no reboot)
     
  3. Prateek Gupta

    Prateek Gupta Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can download swype from 'beta.swype.com'
     
  4. sahilisburman

    sahilisburman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    lg o1 does support swype and i am using it successfully
    and neither swype is provided by lg nor by android itself rather its a software provided by swype inc. . You will not be able to find it on market because swype is still in beta stage and for using it you have to apply for beta membership, if confirmed successfully they will enable ou to download and licence swype from beta.swype.com
    so go out and apply for beta membership
     
  5. B81

    B81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've tryid swipe but I just cannot get it right :/

    Seems Im to clumsy or something. Its my first smartphone, Im not used to that typing.
     
  6. wilberfan1

    wilberfan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    6
    I seem to recall that Swype came with my Optimus M, but I uninstalled it several weeks ago thinking I'd never use it. I wanted to try it today, and spent half-an-hour trying to install it from the beta site and trying get it to work, but I kept getting force close errors. Finally gave up and uninstalled it... :mad:
     
  7. theSuda

    theSuda Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried installing Swype and it took few minutes only for me. Its working flawlessly since. I don't see why it is beta as it has not shown any bugs to me yet.
     
  8. theSuda

    theSuda Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok just for records, I accidentally factory reset my phone (don't laugh, I tried Vol Down+Home+Power combination and it just reset the phone :( ) and now installed Swype again. Took moments only :)
     
  9. vetdrchandan

    vetdrchandan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    swype is great. i love this keyboard. use it i suggest
     
  10. ginn7

    ginn7 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just installed it, takes a little getting used to but I can see how it will be my choice to use once I get the hang of it.
     
  11. GEE_911

    GEE_911 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm using swype right now on my optimus one... You need to go onto their website and register for the beta, and they will send you a link to download...
     
  12. m_calif

    m_calif Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Swype works fine for me, I kinda like it. Only thing is, I can't see the letters I'm rolling over because of
    my finger so I'm sort of guessing.

    Any suggestions as to easier swyping ?
     
  13. Gremaldin

    Gremaldin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    84
    Practise makes perfect :p
     
  14. dilateyourmind

    dilateyourmind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my OS and it came with swype.
     
  15. Hershy

    Hershy Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have fat fingers. I cannot use Qwerty or Swipe for texting. How can I get multi tap text entry on a P500 ?
    Should be under language and keyboard but it isn't.
    Any clues ?
     
  16. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    Have you tried using a Stylus. They make Stylus's now for Touch Capacitive screens. Then you would have no problem with swype style keyboards.
     
  17. Hershy

    Hershy Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, tried that. Does not respond to the cold touch, needs the warmth of my fingers.
     
  18. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    Oh well, sorry it didn't help. I cant live without mine. I have big hands and use Hacker's keyboard which gives me a full keyboard in landscape mode, which means the keys are even smaller than the android keyboards.
    When using a terminal emulator it keeps me from getting errors in the code.
     
  19. Gremaldin

    Gremaldin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    84
    @Hershy You must have tried a normal stylus. There are styli(?) available for capacitive screens, like the one the samsung galaxy note has. It doesn't need the warmth of your fingers, it needs a conducting surface so that the capacitance value at the point you touched changes (or something like that). Anyway, swype is free, try it and see if it suits you. Try landscape mode
     
  20. Hershy

    Hershy Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank for that. I tried a stylus off a Sony Ebook reader but no cigar.
    Anyway, in the Language and Keyboard menu there is an option for
    LG Keyboard and under Keyboard Layouts I have two live optionsa
    Qwert and Phone keypad and three grayed out options which are irrelevant to this discussion. I would assume the Phone keypad would give me the usual phone alpha numeric display but all I get is the qwerty layout.
    No matter what I do, I cannot get rid of qwerty.
    What to do ?
     
  21. Kylalunaselene

    Kylalunaselene New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been using TouchPal Keyboard (available for FREE from Google Play) and I absolutely love it, it's so easy to customize, you can change the emoticons out and teach it new words with a few clicks. Plus I love watching the fun little trail my finger drags around the screen xD Though, that can be turned off. You can also swipe up/down for commonly used numbers and symbols. I just love it!
     
  22. redt0pcab

    redt0pcab New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just downloaded the touchpal keyboard v5 and it seems to work just like swype! Yay!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...