limited overclocking


Last Updated:

  1. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53

    Advertisement
    Moonfire likes this.
  2. jamesnmandy

    jamesnmandy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    34
    nice! and so it begins....

    i dont like the exclusion of the On Demand profile....thats the one i primarily use, so i get it when i need it and save battery when not using it....

    i will be waiting, but at least it appears 1200Mhz is easily doable as there are no reports of strange behavior yet

    i wonder in these kernels, do they do anything with the CPU voltages? i was once a heavy pc overclocker, water cooled and voltmodded and what not...and increasing cpu VID was almost always essential to really push the limits on the CPU...wonder if anyone has gone down that road yet with the current mobile devices? i know it would be a detriment to battery life, but you gotta admit...if you could benchmark a 3000 quadrant score running 1.5Ghz with a slight CPU voltage increase...you know you would :)
     
  3. irishpride

    irishpride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    76
    I've been running this for a couple of days now and it is great, the little lag that was there is gone, battery life hasn't changed much. It's in very early beta right now, so we know that some really good things are coming. I couldn't be happier just being able to overclock coming from the DX. It seems as if they are just a couple of steps away from a release candidate, in which it hopefully opens up all of the profiles on setcpu.
     
  4. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
  5. itsTee

    itsTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    yup overclocked here
     
  6. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    What setting/profile do you use from SetCPU? If you do?
     
  7. RoyMustang

    RoyMustang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is great news as I would rather overclock than perform any of the current lag fixes. I've read somewhere, (can't remember where at the moment,) that 1.4 was all but a done deal with possible 1.5 even 1.6! I would think 1.4 would be ideal with tradeoffs between batt. life and performance.
     
  8. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    The Captivate has been at 1.2 for awhile now. 1.6 is the figure everyone seem to throw at as the reasonable limit. Im kinda like you figuring something in the 1.4-1.5 neighborhood offer the best compromise of performance without too much overvolting or heat. We wont know till someone pushes out something beyond 1.2 which publicly I still think hasnt happened...yet
     
  9. itsTee

    itsTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    1200 max 200 min. conservative and no profiles.
     
    saps likes this.
  10. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Yeah that seems to be the consensus. Quick question [asked this at xda too]: If for whatever reason, I wanted to go back to stock kernal I know I can do that thru odin and I already have the stock kernal saved on my hard drive. But, is there a zip for the stock kernal so I could flash back thru CWM?
     
  11. itsTee

    itsTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    sorry can't help you there.. i haven't seen a stock kernel zip yet..
     
  12. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    itsTee likes this.
  13. itsTee

    itsTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
  14. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Yeah I know there's the full system recovery but just the kernal is much simpler. Have you had any issues what so ever with the 1.2 kernal? Tested it with any benchmarking apps et al? I know I should just bit the bullet and take the 4 minutes to apply this but Im still standing on the diving board looking into the pool below.
     
  15. itsTee

    itsTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    yes, i used linpack, got like 9.7 MFLOPs. used the quadrant and got 953 .. i dont' have the lag fix. waiting on voodoo.. i heard its getting close..
     
  16. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Yup, those numbers look like the appropriate boost.
    Yeah Vibrant and Captivate already rolled out. Us and Epic supposedly anytime [day/week] now.
     
  17. itsTee

    itsTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
  18. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
  19. itsTee

    itsTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    why?
    dont' like the OC kernel?
     
  20. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    I love CWM :D. 3 minutes total time from including reboot.
    I had a moment of puzzlement when I saw 800Mhz; just need to re-autodetect and then the slider can be zipped up to 1200.
    Un-lagfixed Quadrant is 950+ and damn I am tempted to just throw the fix on for some quick benchies and then throw it off

    So LinPack has me as high as 9.86Mflops; usually right around 9.8ish. Quadrant was 956-978. All benchies reflect the 20% improvement. I've got 5-6 other benchmarks I tried and its an across the board 20% improvement. Now I did notice running these 100% cpu speed and 100% load tests my battery drained 5% in like 10 minutes. So if this thing were running at 100% that's be what 3hrs of battery life. Now of course that wont happen.
    I will play with this some more and report back any problems but so far SO GOOD! Now doubt in my mind 1.4 is a stone cold guarantee of the hummingbird
     
  21. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    No, no I hadn't even done it yet. I was saying now Im going to do it once you linked me the stock kernal zip. Post above shows me getting same numbers as you and big smiles. Battery temps is virtually the same as with 1Ghz despite running all those benchies
     
  22. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Just feeding my ShootMe addiction:

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Reminds me of the days when everything revolved around your wcpuid/cpu-z screenshot.

    This is bad...I've been 30 minutes with 1.2Ghz and Im already itching for more. If Im reading the document correctly we're only running 1325mV for this 1.2 compared with 1300mV for the stock 1Ghz. Thats encouraging. I know there is supposed to be a Kernal for the Epic where they do 1.2Ghz with 1250mV. Still 1.4Ghz seems like a slam dunk from what Im seeing/experiencing.
     
  23. itsTee

    itsTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    ohh okay cool
     
  24. itsTee

    itsTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    what are you using for screencaps?
     
  25. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Its an app called ShootMe [in Market for free:)]. Super simple to use. Start it, Hide it find your screen and you shake the phone, hear a shutter click sound and screen is captured. You can upload right to picasa from the phone. Picasa account is linked to the google account you established on the device initially. Its great I can literally have pics linked and posted less than 1 minute after I take them
     

Share This Page

Loading...