Liquid E SMS problem


Last Updated:

  1. SILK

    SILK New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My liquid e has been great (aside from battery life lol) for me so far, but i do have one problem, don't know if anyone else has the same

    but when i go to the stock sms app, the initial list to load my text msgs takes FOREVER, sometimes minutes and no less than 30 seconds each time. i don't think i have that many text msgs. at the top of the screen it says refreshing. i tried playing with the settings but it always does this

    any help?
     

    Advertisement
  2. erixon

    erixon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    My fiance has a Liquid E that I got for her, and it doesn't do that, but it loads the texts in strange order. You have to scroll through the list to find recent messages, which seem to be stuck right in the middle of older messages. Kind of an annoyance.
     
  3. jtmorris

    jtmorris Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine loads fast, but is also in a strange order.
     
  4. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    Which firmware do you have?

    Go to Settings-->About Phone-->Build Number

    And just type whatever is in there.



    This was a bug which plagued the 1.100.05.EMEA firmware. Don't know if Acer released any phones with that firmware but if you do have it, might be smart to update.
     
  5. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    In fact there are Liquid E firmware upgrades available for EMEA.GEN1, EMEA.CUS2 and AAP.GEN2 here- Step5

    If you have any of those firmwares, upgrade your firmware (requires Windows PC, just download the .zip from that site and follow the instructions. Very simple).

    All your data and apps will get wiped on a firmware upgrade so be sure to back them up somehow. There is an app in the market called MyBackup Pro which does not require root. I have never used it but worth a shot.
     
  6. jtmorris

    jtmorris Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    It says "Acer_LiquidE_1.100.03_PA_ROG"

    And was just checking notifications (drop down bar) and all of the sudden it started 'clicking' on a bunch of stuff for a few seconds -as if I was tapping the screen a bunch of times and it was catching up. Weird. Still getting used to the new phone.
     
  7. jtmorris

    jtmorris Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just a follow up for anyone who cares, I called tech support and they are sending me a replacement phone because of this issue. I hope this acer doesn't turn out to be crap.
     
  8. Harness

    Harness New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was really not necessary. If you pushed a GEN1 firmware upgrade with the download tool I could have supplied, you could have upgraded your phone quite a bit.

    Out of box, I wasn't as impressed with the Liquid as I am now, I'm running LCR 1.8, snappier speeds, root access, and this silly bug goes away (I had it too!).

    Harness.

    Edit: Acer_LiquidE_1.100.03_PA_ROG is Rogers' build of Eclair. Best just to push the upgrade imo. I forgot to do a NANDROID backup though, so if I ever have to send my phone in I'm going to have to find someone to send me the rom.
     
  9. jtmorris

    jtmorris Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's good to know. The new one should arrive today. I'm not super tech savvy, so I'll probably just be waiting for 2.2.
     
  10. Edtek

    Edtek Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same build Acer_LiquidE_1.100.03_PA_ROG. How do I upgrade it? Is there a special tool I need?

    I am downloading the 2.100.07.EMEA.GEN1 file from the Acer site listed in a post above. Do I just need to install it like normal?
     
  11. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    I don't think it would let you. You need to use the Acer Download Tool.



    1) Make sure you have Acer Liquid USB drivers installed (they are on the guide on the top)
    2) Download the Acer Download Tool- MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service
    3) Find the .bin file you want to flash- Acer Liquid & Liquid E ALL ROMs bin extract collection - Android @ MoDaCo
    4) Unpack it and run the Acer Download Tool (IMPORTANT: For Windows 7/Windows Vista, make sure to right click it and Run As Administrator).
    5) Click Browse and select the .bin file you downloaded. You might get an MD5 error, ignore that and flash the ROM. It will start flashing the ROM
    --If something happens, the phone can be unplugged (though it says it cannot) BUT DO NOT TURN OFF THE DEVICE.



    BTW, this does void your warranty. There has been one case of a bricked phone (I think). I have done this process many times and have had zero problems.
     
  12. Edtek

    Edtek Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I would get a GEN1 bin file? Would that be correct?
     
  13. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    Yeah with this tool you can flash any .bin from any region.
     
  14. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    BTW, warning, BACK UP EVERYTHING ON YOUR PHONE BEFORE DOING THIS
     
  15. Edtek

    Edtek Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Almost everything I use on my phone is either through Google services (Contacts, email...) so that is not a concern. It just gets sync'd anyway. Any apps that I use can be easily downloaded and configured pretty quick, so a back up isn't really needed.

    I did the upgrade last night, and it worked out well. I haven't noticed any real difference, and I still had to use the SMS time fix due to a Rogers Wireless problem, but it works and that is all that matters.

    I would like the phone to be faster, so if I installed the LCR 1.8 rom, would this do what I need?
     
  16. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
  17. stephen878

    stephen878 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys i am sooooo new to this phone ..... my text threads get sorted by al the senders replys in a row then all mine in a row below so i have to scroll up to see what they said... is this normal can i fix it, i have a acer liquid e

    thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...