Locale does not work with Moment? Alternatives?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Johnny Cakes

    Johnny Cakes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    68
    Background: Locale is an app which uses GPS to permit the user to define conditions, based on where the phone is. For example, when phone detects it is at work, it can set ringer to OFF, vibrate to ON, and WiFi to ON.

    Some of the comments in the Market indicate that Locale does not work on the Moment. I had a Hero and Locale worked great, but now I ditched there Hero for the Moment and can not get Locale to work.

    Has anyone been able to get Locale to work on the Moment? This will let me know if maybe I just need to keep trying stuff to get it to work.

    Does anyone have an alternative for Locale? Mostly I would just like to automatically turn OFF my ringer when I get to the courthouse as cell phones are confiscated by the judge if they ring.
     

    Advertisement
  2. marcusb

    marcusb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Locale technically does work its just the lack of aGPS and not so great GPS functionality of the moment that creates the problems.
     
  3. Johnny Cakes

    Johnny Cakes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    68
    My old "not smart" phone just learned cell tower data to figure out where it was.

    I really need Locale to work. In fact, I checked to make sure there was an app like this before getting the phone.

    If there are any tips for improving Locale working on the moment, I'm all ears.

    Also, if there is an alternative.......
     
  4. marcusb

    marcusb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    No alternatives that I know of.. and no solutions really. aGPS is cell phone triangulation probably like your last phone did and that is what is broken. There was an effort to get the people who make Locale to allow MAC/SSID identification of wireless networks but I think they shot that down.
     
  5. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    The only way I have gotten it to work is to leave GPS on at all times. Also, make sure your location radius is blown up wide enough on the map (give yourself several blocks, if not a quarter mile radius if possible). Also enable the Wifi on your phone and set the Wifi options/locations in the app. And make sure you have the "use wireless networks" option checked on your phone. AND within the Locale app, make sure you designate where you are (at first it had me in Colorado, I had to tell it where I was actually at in NC) currently located.

    Once I turned on all of those options, it began working just fine. However, it then becomes a terrible battery hog. I think that if they add GPS as a location toggle option, it wouldn't be so bad. Example: When I enter a certain GPS location, the GPS turns off and turns wifi on. Then when I leave that Wifi network, the wifi turns off and the GPS turns back on... If it did that I would use it. But as it is, it's no good. Plus, I do not know any other GPS triggered options.

    HOWEVER, there is an app called 'timeriffic' which allows you to set those auto-commands to a schedule, rather than geo-specific.

    Hope that helps!
     
  6. natedawg

    natedawg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Locale, but strictly using its ability to turn on or off the ringer based on time. Since I teach, I just set it to turn the ringer off during the time I am in class. This sounds like the same functionality as timerrific.

    I have not tried the GPS features.
     
  7. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Lol, hadn't bothered looking into Locale's time functionality in contrast with timeriffic:p
    Looks like they have the exact same setup. Except Timeriffic allows the changing of airplane mode, and Locale allows for a change of background. However, I think that Timeriffic's scheduling interface is slightly more user friendly. But pointless if you are using Locale.

    I guess I am uninstalling Timeriffic now;)
     
  8. Johnny Cakes

    Johnny Cakes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    68
    No, my last phone had no GPS. What the app did was have a "learning mode" during which it recorded every cell phone tower the phone "pinged" and created a comprehensive list.

    When using the app, if the cell phone pinged from a tower on the list, the options for that situation were invoked. Once the phone pinged from a tower which was not on the list, the default situation was re-invoked.

    Granted, this would not work at all in rural Nebraska where cell towers are 50 miles apart, but in an urban area, it worked great.

    And it seems pretty simple also.
     
  9. baddubbin

    baddubbin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    aGPS functionality on CDMA networks isnt fully supported on android until 1.6 i believe.

    if you turn on wifi and find location via cell/wifi networks in location settings you might get it to find your location properly. it has worked for me, but i dont leave it on.

    other than that you would pretty much have to wait for 1.6 or 2.0 or whatever the moment gets updated to.
     
  10. arashed31

    arashed31 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    I use Locale on my Moment with different types of conditions. For school, since the walls are made of antiwireless something I used the time condition set from 8am to 3:50pm.

    For when I'm at home, I trained it to detect the WiFi signals around me for location.
     
  11. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    I use the calendar feature, where instead of location or time, you use calendar appointments. Seems to work quite well.
     
  12. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Well, I can't find an answer to my question ANYWHERE in androidforums.com. So I figured I would resurrect this thread.

    As many of you may have noticed, Locale's location conditions work wonderfully via network location ever since the CL14 update.

    However, you all may have also noticed that Locale Beta has 'expired' without notice, and now the only thing remaining is the $10 full version. My question is for those of you that have purchased the full version.

    How the heck do I make situations exclusive? Here's my dilemma... I have the app 'drivesafe.ly (lite)' installed and set to open under the default situation. However, when I am in another situation (at home, at school, etc), Locale still engages the default (thus triggering drivesafe.ly), so I have two situations running at the same time.:mad:

    I'm trying to make it so I have all of my normal stops distinctly nailed down in locale, while everywhere else (essentially while driving) engages its own set of settings that should ONLY apply when I am NOT at a listed location.:confused:

    I know this all might be a little confusing during the first read, but any help would be GREATLY appreciated! Having my text messages read to me while I am driving, and autoresponding to the sender, is an invaluable asset to me... but I really do not appreciate having them read out loud to me, broadcasted from within my pocket, while I am walking through the grocery store.:eek:
     
  13. AndroidStephen

    AndroidStephen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    3
    @CriticalCritic... lol on that last part.

    Wish I could help you.. all I've seen on the paid version is that it is real buggy.. everyone is asking for the beta version to come back. Good luck.
     
  14. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Most of the old features that went missing in the new version are reported by the devs to be in development for reimplementation very soon. And as far as the bugs go... like you, I was very weary of it. But thanks to the 24hr trial period that is granted by the android market, I was able to give it a shot. Yeah, it's pricey but the convenience is unmatched. And I haven't come across any bugs yet (actually some cool new features). Aside from the inability to stop the Fing default.:confused:
    It's still a great app IMO. If the price isn't too high (and if it is, then please do not buy it b/c the Devs will likely drop the price in a month), then just give it the 24hr try and see for yourself.:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...