Locale on DIGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. thrillerbee

    thrillerbee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Has anyone used Locale on their DI yet? Just curious how well it works & if it's worth spending $10 on an app.

    Thanks!

    p.s. - I know I can give it a test run, but my schedule it pretty boring this week so I wouldn't get to really see it in action.
     

    Advertisement
  2. stanfna

    stanfna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    29
    works awesome!!!!!

    my set up....

    - Bluetooth plug in - when i get in my car (and bluetooth connects) it turns all sounds to "normal" and turns off WIFI

    - GPS Location - one for work and one for home. at work it puts everything on vibrate. at home it turns all sounds to normal.

    - certain time - every Mon. through Thu nights at 11pm it turns everything to vibrate until 5am.
     
  3. TheObviousChild

    TheObviousChild Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    12
    Holy crap! Hadn't heard about this about yet. That is one of the most clever apps I could imagine.
     
  4. thrillerbee

    thrillerbee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Which plugins do you use? Seems like this app could get expensive... nickel & dime model
     
  5. android_freak

    android_freak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    93
    If you want to try a cheaper one you can give Setting Profiles a try, they also have a Lite (free) version I'm testing out right now.
     
  6. thrillerbee

    thrillerbee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    The Lite version only allows a single active rule. Can't really test it like that...
     
  7. furman82

    furman82 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you don't need to the location aspect of Locale, I suggest Timerriffic. It's free and works using timers. If your day is somewhat structured, as mine is with work between 9 and 6, it tends to do the job.
     
  8. android_freak

    android_freak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    93
    This is correct. I meant it more as it will let you get the feel of the app before spending the $4, no so much testing.
     
  9. thrillerbee

    thrillerbee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah, I've been using that & I guess I'll continue. I haven't spent any money on apps yet, and I don't want to start.
     
  10. DaveS024

    DaveS024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    I bought this app and the location never changes from default. It changed when i first set it up but as soon as it went to default it never changed again
     
  11. dylo22

    dylo22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    119
    I use "setting profiles" instead of locale. It basically does the same thing minus the plugins. And it cost only 2 dollars (maybe 3..i don't remember). Another cool thing about setting profiles is the widget. You can use it to quickly switch profiles from you home screen. It comes in handy when I'm going to see a movie. All I have to do is set my silent profile on for two hours and it will automatically switch back once the time expires.
     
    DaveS024 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...