Lock Screen


Last Updated:

  1. mobily

    mobily Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Morning all,

    I have been reading through the manual for the Desire and it states that you can have a different lock screen wallpaper to the wallpaper when the screen has been unlocked.

    However, I can't seem to manage this at all.

    Does anyonw know if this is possible or if it is an error in the HTC manual?

    The reason being I would like to have a nice bright lock screen image but a normal black background for when apps and widgets are all over it

    Many thanks,
    JT
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You could on the hero. There was an option in settings next to wallpaper called lock screen image. I looked ony desire once and I didnt have it. Could try widget locker frommarket though
     
    mobily likes this.
  3. MajorProbes

    MajorProbes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    There's nothing in the stock settings that allow you to do this on the desire to my knowledge, if it was it would be under:

    Settings > Personalize > Home wallpaper
    Settings > Personalize > Lock screen wallpaper

    Like the Hero.

    There are some apps in the market that will let you achieve this on the desire:

    Lockbot
    Widget Locker
     
    mobily likes this.
  4. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    get widget locker, it allows you to have a different lockscreen wallpaper and also add widgets and shortcuts etc to it.
     
  5. alan hanson

    alan hanson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    reading through the manual........do people actually do this, lol cant remember the last time i did instead of jumpin straight into a game/phone etc....
     
  6. mobily

    mobily Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like widget locker is the winner.. however why would you want widgets and apps on a lock screen when you can't use them, as the screen is locked??
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    Widget locker is very configurable. You can set it up so you can use the widgets if you want.
     
  8. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    also, some widgets only show info, so they dont need to be 'used' when its locked.

    but I do have active controls for last.fm and mixzing on the lock screen as well as mini-info and a car dock shortcut.
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I just have a custom clock so I have interactions turned off alltogether
     
  10. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    248
    I find it very useful to have access to widgets using Widget Locker. Currently I have Twicca and sliders for quick access to Camera and Camcorder for those emergency YouTube moments! ;)

    I use Twitter a lot, so having one-click access to my account through Twicca is a real bonus.
     
  11. EmperorKabir

    EmperorKabir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    8
    a bit off topic, but i removed my lock screen entirely. press a button and you are on your home screen. (Just throwing that in here as an option). Just search for 'No Lock'.
     
  12. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    I don't know how you cope with this at all. Even with the normal sliders i'm constantly unlocking the phone in my pocket :(
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,781
    Likes Received:
    10,701
    Probably depends on what pocket you put it in - I doubt it's an issue in a jacket, but for me it would sometimes happen in trouser pockets.

    I found that I had less trouble when I started using WidgetLocker with a stock android style slider rather than the HTC sense version - I guess some mixture of a smaller area to start the unlocking from and a different direction/larger travel needed to complete, but it seemed harder to do by accident.

    Of course a flip case eliminates it completely ;)
     
  14. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    its an error in the htc manual (and on their website faq too actually), i thought they would fix it in froyo, but obviously not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...