Locked out of my G2, annoyingly!


Last Updated:

  1. Diamondis

    Diamondis Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had my G2 2 days and have been playing around with it. I decided to see how the phone dealt with someone forgetting the pattern to unlock it, so I failed 5 times and pressed the 'Forgot Pattern?' button. The next screen says enter email and password, which I assumed meant my Gmail account, so I did. It says that the user name or password is incorrect every time but I know I entered them right. Is it my Gmail I log in with? I'm really annoyed with this since I haven't had it long and doing a factory reset would delete everything on my ROM, which would be very inconvenient.

    Any help would be great, happy to have joined the forums, thank you. =)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lunfai

    Lunfai Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm quite confused as how you can just forget your pattern. You have to enter the G-mail that you used during the setting up of the device. It's kinda ironic how you forgot both your G-mail account and the unlock pattern. I guess really unless you get your thinking cap on you'll have to reset the device. We don't really want to establish you as a thief or anything and want to access personal information but you see why we can assume that.
     
  3. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    My advice is reset the phone and then don't "play around" in the future.


    Chegs
     
  4. Diamondis

    Diamondis Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice, I get called a thief when I ask for help. I know my pattern thank you very much which is why a way to get back to the pattern screen from the e-mail screen would do me just fine. Did you not read that I've been messing with it, and failed 5 times on purpose?

    I also know my Gmail account, but it isn't working even though the details are right. I also I know that to get around this all I would have to do is a factory reset to gain access to the phone, so I don't really need this forums help to get access to a clean G2. I don't want to do that simply because I've rooted it already and I'd rather not have to do it again.

    Thanks for calling m a thief though, really nice. I'll be going to another forum now. Very friendly here.

    Ok I solved this myself just now, so if anyone else has this problem, and doesn't want to be accused of being a thief, here's the solution.

    The G2/Hero's 'Forgot Pattern?' screen askes you to enter the Gmail address you signed in with and its password. If you enter xxx@gmail.com and then the pass it will say it's not right. You need to enter xxx@googlemail.com and then it will accept it.

    If this was common knowledge then I apologise but I didn't know it was that fussy. I'm back in my phone now and happy, even though I'm resisting the urge to call the second poster some vile names.
     
  5. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Diamondis,
    I wouldn't take the other poster's comments personally, as I am sure that they were put with best intentions.
    We are a friendly bunch on this forum & glad that you have found your answer.
    Rather confusingly, you only use Gmail when setting up the emails servers manually, otherwise, you always use the full googlemail address.
     
  6. chips513

    chips513 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi to everyone, I am new here and have a question. I played around with my wife's phone, an HTC G1, and the screen became dark every now and then (I don't know why), so probaly I touched some buttons without seeing it because the screen remained dark for a few seconds. The problem is now that I have activated or "created" the pattern to unlock the screen. Since I don't know it, how can I get the phone back working? As far as I know the reset can be made onl
     
  7. abz06

    abz06 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have exact same problem as diamon i have writen xxx@gmail.com but i dunno wat to write for passwrd and den da xxx@googlemail.com i donno dat passwrds to enter so please i need your help on how to get bak on to unlock pattern page please
     
  8. htc-hero-lad-uk

    htc-hero-lad-uk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D you do know you can just press the home screen key or menue key to just completely bypass the lockscreen? (and then turn locksreen off) lol
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    Except the 'lockscreen' isn't actually locked, whereas the lock pattern (which is what this thread refers to) is and can't be bypassed.
     
  10. unseenuk

    unseenuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    First time post here so please... Be gentle! (But after what I've done I deserve anything I guess!)

    I've been enjoying my hero for some time now (moved from TouchHD) and was bored earlier and started playing.. And yup messed with the pattern lock just to see if it did ask if I'd forgotten it (I don't know why I was intrigued I just was!) and woo it does.. Now the dawning of my stupidity arose with username@gmail.com and my current pass nothing.. Ok quick google brings me here so I try username@googlemail.com nada.. Bugger! reset my password (just incase even though I'd tried it many many times on the laptop to make sure I wasn't going daft)
    Nothing.. So I need help, any ideas how I can recover from my moment of stupidity? Even if I could return the the pattern lock I can put the correct one in but it seems "Forgot Pattern" is a one way street unless someone knows better?

    Thanks

    Rob - Who swears I won't play with my hero again (ooer!)
     
  11. cogent777

    cogent777 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    See this link:

    I need G1 tech support. xkcd

    In my case, the phone was activated at BestBuy. I suspect the person who activated my phone while I was sitting in front of him entered a random password during google account sync, which meant the phone did not have the correct password linked to my account locally. Indeed the password may have been a blank space or simply nothing - I never tried that. Ultimately I did have to factory reset my phone and then I was able to re-enter my google account information with the correct password, so I don't think I will encounter this issue again.

    C.
     
  12. Olivia Mullane

    Olivia Mullane New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi can someone help me please!
    Okay so i got a Htc Hero G2 for Christmas on T-mobile, and my brother was muckin around with the Pattern Password and now it would it get on to my phone it's saying i need my Google Username which i can breifly remember i think.. Also i have turn it off and on again which did NARDA.. NOTHING :|
    soo now i am pretty puzzled on what too doo.. so if anyone has idea what too doo, can you drop me a message or something lol
    Many Thanks!

    p.s i'm from London
    Also i am 15.
     
  13. james

    james Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    9
    aka The how to unlock a stolen phone thread
     
  14. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    If you're locked out of your phone, all you have to do is call it and answer the call. When you're done with the call, use the Home key to get to the home screen instead of ending the call or letting the screen turn off. Then you'll have full access to the phone. If you don't know your phone number, I doubt the phone is yours.
     
  15. Nodders

    Nodders Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    50
    I'm probably wrong here but can't you just remove the battery to turn the phone off, then replace it and switch it on again (unless of course it's got simlock or equivalent - but that's a separate protection device)
     
  16. smohanv

    smohanv New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Here's the solution to unlock without losing your data:

    Type you gmail username and in the password field type "null". You will then be prompted to enter a new pattern and your phone will be unlocked.

    I just did this on my HTC, worked perfectly.

    Source: Issue 3006 - android - Google credentials don't unlock phone after failing too many pattern attempts - Project Hosting on Google Code (comment 172)

    I collected this information from Chrome for Open Source Software: A Little SQLite Goodness for Android and thanks to the one posted this solution.

    Hope it helps many of our forum members.
     
  17. lilmama2gq4u

    lilmama2gq4u New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found helpful info after my son locked my hero and my google account kept saying invalid. After reading all the threads which were not successful. I found a website that told me to use my google account username but for the password put "null". Then I was prompt to make a new pattern. It worked for me hope it helps you.
     
  18. edzxl

    edzxl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0


    sorry for the language, but your a ***ing legend mate
    saved my ***ing day
     

Share This Page

Loading...