Longer Battery Life, Finally!Tips


Last Updated:

  1. Roadblock

    Roadblock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    27
    First off, I didn't "find" this method on my own someone else did, I found it burred in other posts but it does seem to work for me.

    There are two ways to do this. One required you to dial a code into your dialer which I'll skip because the easy way is to just go to the Apps Market and get "Network" which is free.

    Then once you have it installed fire it up and scroll to the very bottom where you will see:

    Set preferred network type. This is the VERY top option. If this is your first time running "Network" it's probably set to "GSM auto (PRL)".

    The problem here I've read is that Sprint does not have GSM networks so the phone keeps "searching" for GSM signals and it never truly sleeps. It might apprear to be sleeping but it's not, it looking for GSM signals.

    That said, change the setting to "CDMA auto (PRL)" which will set the phone to CDMA only and it will STOP looking for GSM networks and to go sleep like it's suppose to. That's if you have nothing else installed keeping it from sleeping.

    The only catch is, the setting does not appear to stick. If you reboot the phone, you have to restart "Network" and redo the setting. One thing to note is when you redo the setting, it will SAY it's still set to CDMA auto (PRL) but in fact it is not so just re-select the setting and close out of Network.

    I took my phone off the charger at 10am this morning and I've been using it on and off all day to send texts, Youtubed a couple video's made a 30+ minute call and a few other odds and ends. Normally I would have had to charge my phone again at least once threw out the day but I've NOT put it back on the charge since 10am and I was still at 83% power when I left work at 5pm.

    I'm at 53% power now, it's 11:20pm, I've watched more Youtube, made 3 15 minute'ish calls texted about 10 times and played a game for about 20 minutes.

    I would have had my phone on the charger a 3rd time for a hour or so by now doing all this so its gotta be helping.

    My phone was bleeding about 10~15% power per hour'ish or so just sitting in my pocket before this. I could take my phone off the charger and at 10am and by lunch at 2~3pm, I was lucky to have 50+% power left if that if I only checked my texts or email maybe once or twice without calls.

    Thanks to the guys who figured this out.
     

    Advertisement
    StuartTX and bartman201 like this.
  2. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    261
    This trick only works on roms that were ported from a GSM RUU, not the stock rom do you honestly think HTC would release the Evo with this kind of problem.
    I think not.
     
    me2u69 likes this.
  3. snowscum

    snowscum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you keep your mobile(3G) on all day?
     
  4. HiRide

    HiRide New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine was already on CDMA auto (prl)...? havent messed with anything before now.
     
  5. thelobster

    thelobster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    5
    mine was on GSM....and its for once when i unplug it an hour later its still at 100% power...

    this works...foudn this out earlier today and did it.
     
  6. Hrshycro

    Hrshycro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2

    We have 3 evos and 2 were on GSM and one was on CDMA. So it's random I guess.
     
  7. Roadblock

    Roadblock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    27
    I honestly wouldn't have expected HTC to release the EVO with such a shit battery but they did. I would have been much happer with a slighter thicker phone with a larger battery even.

    Sure seems to be working for me as well as other people who have tried it.

    Guess we are all just imaging it then. Well... Umm... I'm going to keep on imaging it then because in imagination land, it's working for some of us. :D
     
  8. Roadblock

    Roadblock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    27
    Oh on a side note...

    That was at 11:20pm, it's exactly 3:31am and the phone has STILL not been on the charger. I'm currently at 49%. It's only lost 4% power in 4 hours.

    *Update*

    Also, the Android System was always at the top of my battery usage menu prior to this, now it's like the forth thing down. To me that appears as though it's sleeping right now.
     
  9. thelobster

    thelobster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    5
    i did the phone dial code

    i went from lasting 8 hours a day to going on 30+.

    As someone stated before my phone would just bleed battery in stand by 8-10% per hour. Even after an hour right now in stand by i would only lose 1%.
     
  10. StuartTX

    StuartTX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hopefully, you've already figured out how wrong your post is. Mine was set for GSM on the shipped ROM. This thread did more than any other tip for helping my battery life. Thanks to whoever originally discovered this problem.
     
  11. gzeshDP

    gzeshDP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Seems as though this is the most legitimate and effective battery saving technique thus far. Like so many others, i'm sure, the absurd amounts of battery posts are getting rediculous and it's overwhelming to start reading through intense amounts of posts to find any useful information. Perhaps a sticky should be made of this or a new section to the forums even called CONFIRMED SOLUTIONS in which this and some other factual findings can reside.
     
  12. Nitraine21

    Nitraine21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    20
    Mine on cdma auto
     
  13. huggybear101

    huggybear101 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean by phone dial code? I have had to charge my battery 1-2 times a day since I got it on the 8th. I took the advice of some other posters here and got another charger for work and a car charger.

    I am trying out the Network app as we speak... hopefully it works!
     
  14. SeauxCrazy

    SeauxCrazy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    62
    Phone dialer .... go to Phone and dial "*#*#4636#*#*" Don't press talk ... it'll go directly a menu. Click on Phone information, scroll down and change it to CDMA(prl) in drop down. It might say it force quits, just say ok ... and change it then.
     
    huggybear101 likes this.
  15. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    129
    you forgot a step. you have to hit menu and select "change radio band" or something like that. then force close, then change to CDMA.
     
  16. firemanjay

    firemanjay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    20
    MIne was on CDMA
     
  17. Xtian20192

    Xtian20192 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you know what you are before you do this method? or do you find out when you are doing the method?
     
  18. imageher

    imageher Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    best solution so far for saving batter life.
     
  19. c_l021

    c_l021 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    just did it now and it was already on cdma, hope it works. Btw i used to always use a task killer but i read a post that says its not needed...this true?? thanks :)
     
  20. scnat

    scnat Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    so if its already on cdma, or did the phone dialer change it. damn i'm confused
     
  21. c_l021

    c_l021 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
  22. jami

    jami Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    CDMA auto or CDMA only?
     
  23. wuclan48

    wuclan48 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    find out during
     
  24. tomhagen

    tomhagen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    The first dropsown menu is fine.

    This step I have not been able to make stick... any ideas?
     
  25. biscodude

    biscodude Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was already on cdma auto and I was getting about 50% out of service under cell standby in the battery settings. I turned on enable always on data and that number dropped to 5%. Just something else for you guys to consider.
     

Share This Page

Loading...