1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for a camera app that has a compass direction overlay

Last Updated:

1. wxjoe

wxjoe Member This Topic's Starter

Hey folks,

I'm a bit new to Android but after searching on the Market, the web and this forum, I can't seem to find anything like this... but I feel like it has to exist (or hopefully will soon).

I'm looking for a camera application that can place the current compass direction on the image (and stamp the saved image with the direction). The tilt of the phone would be cool to have, too, but just the compass would be great.

I did find an application that shows the compass direction on over top of a feed from the camera ("Reality + Compass" by Udell Enterprises). I want something just like this, but with the ability to save the image.

In case you're wondering, I'd like to use this for bettering the storm spotting community. A problem when people send in images of clouds/storms/tornadoes/etc is that you never know (1) where the picture was taken and (2) in what direction. Ideally GPS location could be added, too... but for now I just want the compass. (Other image services can handle the location part fine, like Twitter for Android/Twitpic.)

Thanks and feel free to move this topic if it is in the wrong place. (FYI I'm on the HTC Aria, but I can sideload apps now thanks to the new version of HTC Sync.)

Advertisement
  2. smackson

smackson New Member

Hey, Joe,

I was looking for the same thing. I have neither Android nor iPhone right now but thinking about both.

The reason iPhone is cool is that someone wrote a totally awesome-looking app for this, when the 3GS came out with its compass function:

http://hunter.pairsite.com/theodolite/

Want want want! But, I'm on Sprint and if I want a device that I can really use as a phone too, it would need to be on Sprint...