looking for a flashable version of clockworkmod recovery


Last Updated:

  1. novarider

    novarider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'm looking for a flashable version of clockworkmod recovery. I know I can flash it with rom manager but what i'm looking for is a version I can flash in ra recovery.
     

    Advertisement
  2. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Google is your friend and so is XDA. Look in the development section at XDA
     
  3. novarider

    novarider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have been searching for 30min and can't find it. I'm on the xda site every day
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    It is on unrevoked website...link in my sig. If you can't find it pm me
     
  5. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
  6. novarider

    novarider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    30
    I don't want a pc36img I want just the clockwork recovery that I can flash in recovery so I can go between clockwork and ra recovery
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
  8. novarider

    novarider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    30
    Thats flashable in ra recovery? This is what I want to do and have done in the past (I lost the file in a computer crash) it was posted by novox77. I pm'd him but he hasnt been on in about a week.

    "Just flash clockwork with ROM manager when you want to use its functions. When done, flash amon back.

    And in terms of having 2 recoveries at once, I came up with something:

    Flash the recovery that you prefer. Call this one your permanent recovery image. Now, download a .zip file for the other recovery image and keep it on your SD card.

    When you boot into recovery, it will load your permanent one. But if you use the recovery to flash the zip from SD card, you will instantly get the other recovery. Now you have access to the other recovery's features/nandroids. But when you reboot, it automatically reverts back to your permanent one, because the change never has a chance to commit.

    I had to do this when I boot looped my phone, and my recovery image was RA instead of clockwork. I needed to restore a nandroid made with clockwork, but RA can't read the clockwork images. So I temp-flashed clockwork, restored my nandroid backup, and I was back running. And RA was still my recovery image."


    Here is the thread he said it in

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/170541-possible-switch-clockwork-amon-recovery.html
     
  9. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Seems like a lot if work for no reason. Just sayin.. ;)
     
  10. novarider

    novarider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    30
    Not if a nandroids fails to restore or gets corrupted. If you have one for each recovery your still good. Stuff happens and its just a tiny file on the sdcard
     
  11. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    agreed...I use the good ole method of quickboot app into recovery and have used clockwork everytime with no issues at all. (the only time I had an issue was with a nandroid created under a different hboot)

    I have seen more issues with people going back and forth than sticking with one
     
    wrapkgb likes this.
  12. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Understandable. However you should make sure at least one of your nandroids works, so then when the time comes that you absolutely need a back up, you have one. And also I always keep a stock rooted rom on my sd card just incase something horrific happens. But to each there own!
     
  13. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    first
    Let me google that for you < I love this thing :D

    then I clicked on the first one which took me to
    [RECOVERY] [APPS] ROM Manager and Clockwork Recovery Image v1.6 3/8/2010 - xda-developers

    then I clicked on the link to his website
    My Brain Hurts: ROM Manager and Clockwork Recovery Image

    then I clicked on the evo one...take note it is an img file
    http://koush.tandtgaming.com/recoveries/recovery-clockwork-2.5.0.1-supersonic.img



    like I said...I use the unrevoked flashable zip I posted above


    if neither of those help you I am not sure which direction to send you
     
  14. novarider

    novarider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    30
  15. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    glad you finally found it :p

    the zip should work better than his img file he has posted up on his site
     
  16. coreyfuncrusher

    coreyfuncrusher Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    ANyone still have the zip file that I can flash within amon RA to use CW recovery? The site above is down, and I cant find it anywhere. Thanks.
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23,596
    Likes Received:
    14,435
    Why do you need the zip for? PC36IMG for amon ra can be found in my sig ref#1
     
  18. coreyfuncrusher

    coreyfuncrusher Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1

    Maybe I am missing something, but I will explain my situation:

    All my working backups are Clockwork backups and I'm stuck in Amon RA recovery. My current Rom is stuck in a boot loop where it will show the CM7 animated boot screen for a while, then setup screen for 2 seconds (when this pops up i can sometimes even select 'change language' or click the android and it responds for a second) , but then goes back into the CM7 animated boot screen again. This will repeat over and over.

    Is there another way to boot into CW Recovery without that zip? Thanks!
     
  19. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23,596
    Likes Received:
    14,435
    can you get into recovery?
     
  20. coreyfuncrusher

    coreyfuncrusher Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I can get into recovery.. but its Amon Ra.. not CW so I cant restore to my CW backups. Hope this all makes sense.
     
  21. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23,596
    Likes Received:
    14,435
    well then your good. in amon ra you have the ability to access your card via usb. it can be found in the amon ra menu under "usb-ms toggle".
    1. just download the appropriate clockworkmod PC36IMG and rename it to PC36IMG. do not add ".zip" as windows hides extensions. it needs to be named PC36IMG.zip and not PC36IMG.zip.zip
    2. transfer the file to the root (not in any folder) of your sd card.
    3. power off then press and hold power+vol down
    4. hboot should scan for the file
    5. select yes to update
    now you should have your new recovery.

    only thing is i know you have clockwork mod backups. but we can probably get you going without switching recoveries. have you tried wiping system, dalvik cache and cache then re-flash? maybe you have a bad download. try and re-download, wipe, and flash again. i would try those before you switch recoveries.
     

Share This Page

Loading...