Looking to Root, and get Gingerbread.

1. PrincePorter

PrincePorter Member

I just got my very first smart phone ever (I'm super late to the part), the Droid X, and I'm loving it so far. I'm a game developer, and a rather tech-savvy person overall. I've been reading a bit about rooting, and installing the Android OS updates, and I'm leaning towards wanting to root my phone. At first I was a bit against it, because the phone is brand new, and my first smart phone, but I realized that I'm exactly the kind of person who enjoys messing with devices in this sort of way, and it's definitely something I want to do.

That being said, I have Android 2.2, and a brand new Droid X out of the box. I'd like to root it, and install Android 2.3 on it. I DO NOT have a carrier, and just use this thing with wifi. I would however like to get on Verizon later, so anything that conflicts with that (don't think there is much, but I figured I'd mention it anyway) should be avoided, or not be irreversible.

While I'm well aware there are many guides, I'm having trouble finding exactly what I need with a brand new Droid concerning getting 2.3 without a carrier. If someone could leave me instructions on how to root my phone safely, give me a heads up on anything I should know about or be cautious of, and direct me on how to install Gingerbread 2.3, that would be amazing and greatly appreciated.

Advertisement
  2. VoidedSaint

VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

Hi Prince,
    Welcome to Android Forums
    im glad you found your way to the DX All Things Root Section

My signature has everything you need, in the 2nd link, it has the link for z4root, which roots your device,
    once you install z4root reboot your phone and then run it
    install either dx or d2 bootstrapper (its needed because of the locked up bootloader)
    you use dx/d2 bootstrapper to install everything!!