Lose reception, restart phone to get it back?Support


Last Updated:

  1. CharlieCharlie

    CharlieCharlie Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    11
    Love love love my Desire. Few little problems here and there (Music Genre, Battery life etc) but the one main thing that is really bugging me is, that if I lose reception (I live in a area with lots of valleys), it will never regain reception even if I enter a town centre or City. I always have to either switch Airplane mode on then off. Or more often than not, turn the phone off completely and switch it back on, where it then finds reception straight away.

    Anyone else getting this?

    I'm on Vodafone and using the latest Generic Rom
     

    Advertisement
  2. nicmel

    nicmel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    7
    I dont think that this is an issue with Desires, but more so with all smart phones. My first "smartphone" was an o2 XDA, I then used a normal phone for a while (SE c702) then an iPhone and just last week I got a Desire (Orange network, I unlocked and de-branded it as soon as I could).

    I also live in a poor reception area, it was bad on o2, it's "worse" on Orange. With o2 I got a nearly constant 1 or 2 bar signal when the phone was beside my bed. With Orange I get a signal that varies from 1 bar to full, but only when it is on a shelf fairly high up my wall, and behind my TV (awkward even for 6'5 me to reach to!)

    I've always found that smart phones are less capable in poor signal areas than regular phones. I'm not sure why, maybe interference from the extra hardware eg the GPS or Wifi?

    I have the same issue, it's very difficult to regain a "lost" signal, today I did have to reboot the phone to get it, but normally I just put it on the shelf and it regains it. I feel your pain!
     
  3. INB

    INB New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Desire has lost the 3G/GPRS/HSDPA signal a few times, I have managed to kick start it again by putting it in Airplane mode for a few seconds and then back to normal again and has worked every time so far.
     
  4. CharlieCharlie

    CharlieCharlie Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    11
    It's a right pain in the ar*e. I lose ALL reception and obviously if my phone is in my pocket, I won't notice until I look at it and turn Airplane Mode on.
     
  5. horeaa

    horeaa Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    This happened twice to me in the last few days. It doesn't happen every time after I've been in an area with no reception, but very annoying when it does happen as you don't know always that the reception should be good again ... Very weird, on top of this I have the shutdown problem so I always ended up removing the battery. After reboot, all nice and sweet again ...

    I'll try the airplane mode next time as i didn't know about this trick.

    Anybody else having this problem? Could be a network/sim issue ?
    I'm on Orange, unlocked.
     
  6. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    This is a strange issue, I have an unlocked orange and after losing the signal it does come back quite quickly.

    Would it be a phone or network issue is the question
     
  7. wfallan

    wfallan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I carried a EVO for 3 days and couldn't get email or use any 'Net features. Phone worked fine. Sprint techies couldn't or wouldn't answer questions about why. Seems like an undocumented 'feature'.
     
  8. djbandit

    djbandit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am having similar issues my 3greception goes of randomly and will only come back on when i do a factory reset followed by a recovery boot leave on screen with red triangle on then remove battery and it will work for a while really annoying any ideas

    (orange de-branded handset on 2.2 .ruu file downloaded from xda developers )
     
  9. Badger101

    Badger101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, I've had the same problem (Vodafone 2.2), it hadn't done it on the 2.1 firmware.

    I know it was a fault with the phone because I was sitting next to a friend on the Vodafone network and he had full signal.

    I had to restart the phone to get it back.
     
  10. birkward

    birkward Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have also had the same problem occasionally (I'm with Vodafone) and have also had to resort to taking the battery out as Desire wouldn't shut down. I'll remember the airplane mode for next time thought, sounds much easier. Of course I'm hoping there won't be a next time!
     
  11. Antonyjwilliams

    Antonyjwilliams Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    lots of people complaining about this on the vodafone forums
     
  12. vince1

    vince1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    7
    Have the same problem here and I'm not with Vodafone. So its a phone issue not a network problem.
     
  13. Undying

    Undying Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm on Orange & lose all internet signal alot lately, occasional no netwok message too!

    I thought it was maybe network, perhaps not. :confused:
     
  14. alexp86

    alexp86 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    I had the same problem but found the solution on this thread: Data connection problem on my HTC Desire - Page 5 - xda-developers

    I followed this and it fixed it for me:
     
  15. Jinkz

    Jinkz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having exactly the same problem here, i've got a HTC Desire Vodaphone debranded running 2.2 and it's only been recently i've had to reboot my phone, overnight it seems to lose HSDPA signal, or altogether if i'm at home (where it used to have full signal). Very annoying!
     
  16. Bradden

    Bradden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    8
    Mine is currently set to WCDMS preferred.. I'm jsut wondering what the difference is with GSM auto (PRL). I can manually set the phone to GSM only through the normal settings.

    I'm not questioning that this works.. I'm just wondering how it works.

    Thanks
     
  17. Bradden

    Bradden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    8

Share This Page

Loading...