Losing all internet connectivity on 2.2


Last Updated:

  1. zim2704

    zim2704 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    Anybody notice they are losing their internet connectivity while tethering with 2.2 roms. I have run BB, Kangerade, and CM6 rc1&2 with them all losing internet connectivity completely.

    I have tried different kernals and different basebands all resulting in the connectivity loss.....

    Is this a hardware problem with the phone or is it software based. This is a somewhat new phone and I honestly can't remember my previous one giving me this many problems while running 2.2 roms when they first came out.

    Any help is appreciated, thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    Haven't noticed it happening on mine, but I've not really tethered for more than 5-10 minutes at any given time. How often does it happen?
     
  3. zim2704

    zim2704 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    well usually happens about 5-10 min into tethering.....from there it is in and out constantly.....bad enough that i've reverted to a 2.1 rom
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    it works fine now that you are back on a 2.1 rom?

    What kind of tethering are you doing wifi or wired?

    If wifi have you tried one of the other wifi tether apps?
     
  5. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    I originally thought kernel issue, but he said he's tried more than one. This is definitely an odd bug if it works with 2.1.
     
  6. zim2704

    zim2704 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes it works itself out when using a 2.1 rom. I've used both wired and wireless with the same problem. I've used P3 kernals, chevy and jdfkl's all with the same issue. Also changed the baseband from .01p to .03p with no better results.

    After having problems constantly today I reloaded another 2.1 rom and it has worked without so much as a hiccup for the past few hours.
     
  7. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Delete, mistake]
     
  8. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    no issues here. is your phone getting to hot?
     
  9. zim2704

    zim2704 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    no the phone is not getting hot....it starts dropping connectivity almost immediately after starting a tether program....

    I have formatted everything from the sd card all the way to boot, cache, and whatever other options it gave in CW recovery last night after that I reloaded CM6 rc2 and am going to try today to see if that helps.
     
  10. zim2704

    zim2704 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just and update.....

    After wiping all data, cache, boot and sd card everything has been operating smoothly.

    Honestly don't know why wiping data/cache during a rom install wouldn't do it but going into recovery and wiping everything possible did work.

    So the lesson learned is to wipe everything possible through recovery if random issues occur and your standard steps don't resolve the issue.

    But make sure to have a rom downloaded onto your computer so you can put it onto your sd card manually(mounting it via adapter to computer) because your phone will not boot up after wiping everything through recovery until you re-flash a rom.
     
  11. emdmao

    emdmao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    51
    I'm glad everything is working out for you now. I was just going to reply and ask if you had tried wiping system while in recovery. Normally just a cache and data wipe is ok, but if anything seems out of whack wiping system can help. If you don't wipe the system pieces of other ROMs could be lingering behind and interfere with the new one. You could have had remnants of 2.1 ROMs causing issues also.

    Just as a habit (unless I'm just upgrading a ROM by the same dev, in this case I normally just do data and cache) I wipe everything each time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...