Lost contacts with Rubix


Last Updated:

  1. northernmoris

    northernmoris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    41
    I thought my contacts were synced with my gmail, apparently not. How do I get backup assistant back so I can get my contacts?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    If you made a nandroid before installing rubiX, just flash back to that, sync your contacts with Google, then flash rubiX again.
     
  3. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    ^^^ Yeah, what he said. The thing here is that the directions to installing rubiX gives you a clean start as it's trying to get rid of bloatware, in order that it run faster. In the process of clearing data, cache and whatnot, you're clearing all your contacts!

    I hope you made a backup? Please say you did?!!!
     
  4. northernmoris

    northernmoris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    41
    Lol. I didn't bother because I deleted some bloat by uninstalling thru tiba and I knew or thought that my md5check sum wouldn't match. I think at this point I either need backup assist from vz or tbh back to 2.3.15 and sync from there.
     
  5. northernmoris

    northernmoris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    41
    Im back on a tbh release but my contacts don't sync.. When I check on my pc they are not there. I checked sync contacts and it did its thing?
     
  6. adrianl623

    adrianl623 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    9
    If you log into gmail from your computer and click contacts, do they show up there?
     
  7. northernmoris

    northernmoris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    41
    no...
     
  8. adrianl623

    adrianl623 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well what you can do is log into verizons website to get into your backup assist pages, select all your contacts, then export them, then just email yourself the file or put it on your sd card to import them to your phone.

    https://login.verizonwireless.com/a...ess.com:443/vzw/secure/backupassistant.action

    ^^login there and select all your contacts, if you've backed them up before with backup assistant, then export them.
     
    northernmoris likes this.
  9. imronburgundy

    imronburgundy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    24
    Make sure you also keep a .csv file of your contacts on your computer, whether Mac or Windows. That's the first thing I did before I switched from the Omnia to the Droid X.
     
    northernmoris likes this.
  10. northernmoris

    northernmoris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    41
    So for future search purposes or to learn something new.... Google also accepts .vcf which is how contacts are exported from backup assistant..
     

Share This Page

Loading...